The United States Department of Justice Department of Justice Seal The United States Department of Justice
Search The Site
Bald Eagle
Bald Eagle. Courtesy of USFWS.

Bald Eagle Fun Facts:

  • Baby eagles are called eaglets.

  • Bald Eagle. Courtesy of U.S. FWS Bald eagles are mostly dark brown until they are four or five years old when they develop their signature white feathers.

  • While the bald eagle is no longer listed as endangered or threatened under the Endangered Species Act, it is still protected under the Migratory Bird Treaty Act and the Bald and Golden Eagle Protection Act.
Source: All information from U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Department of the Interior).

Last Updated: October 2010