You are here

Hard Time for Gun Crime

No Firearms in School Zones, No Firearms Supplied to Juveniles

 

Possessing or discharging a firearm in a school zone can get you a prison sentence of up to five years. If you give or sell a handgun (or ammunition used only in handguns) to someone under 18 and you knew or had reasonable cause to know that the juvenile intended to carry, possess, or discharge the handgun or otherwise use the handgun or ammunition during a violent crime, you can go to prison for up to 10 years.

Don't Even THINK About It!

Obliterating or altering the manufacturer's serial number on a firearm or even transporting or possessing such a firearm is punishable by up to five years in prison.

Possessing or transferring a machine gun is punishable by up to 10 years in prison.

Making or possessing a machine gun, sawedoff shotgun or rifle, silencer, or estructive device without registration through the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) pursuant to the National Firearms Act (NFA) can result in a 10 year prison term.

United States Attorney's Office

District of South Carolina
1441 Main Street, Suite 500
Columbia, South Carolina 29201
(803) 929-3000

Department of Justice Seal

This pamphlet is intended only to highlight key aspects of federal law with respect to firearms purchase, possession, and use, particularly as they relate to Project Safe Neighborhoods, which is a national initiative to vigorously enforce gun laws, and Project CeaseFire. The brochure is not a complete statement of the law nor should it be relied upon as such. Other terms, conditions, and exceptions not spelled out here may be applicable.

 

 

 

 

 

Hard Time for Gun Crime

What Every Convicted
Felon, Domestic Violence
Perpetrator, Drug User, and
Illegal Firearms Trafficker
Should Know

Project CeaseFire

www.ProjectSafeNeighborhoods.gov

Updated February 4, 2015