State of Arizona Arizona Criminal Justice Commission Crime Victim Compensation Program Eligibility Requirements

HAVE YOU BEEN AN INNOCENT VICTIM OF CRIME THAT CAUSED PHYSICAL HARM OR EXTREME MENTAL DISTRESS? ARE YOU AN ARIZONA RESIDENT WHO HAS BEEN A VICTIM OF INTERNATIONAL TERRORISM?

.....IF THE ANSWER IS YES, YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR FINANCIAL COMPENSATION FOR OUT-OF-POCKET CRIME-RELATED EXPENSES.

GENERAL CRITERIA FOR FLIGIBILITY:

- The victim is victimized in Arizona or is a victim of international terrorism.
- The crime is reported to a police agency within 72 hours of the discovery of the crime unless good cause is shown to justify a delay.
- An application is filed within 2 years of the discovery of the crime in the county in which the crime occurred unless good cause is shown to justify a delay.
- The victim or derivative victim willingly cooperates with law enforcement agencies.
- The victim or a derivative victim suffers physical injury or extreme mental distress as a direct result of the criminally injurious conduct.
- The victim or derivative victim incurs economic loss as a direct result of the crime which is not covered by a benefit or advantage that the person is entitled to receive from a collateral source.

Submitting an application for compensation does not guarantee an award. All claims will be thoroughly investigated.

VICTIM COMPENSATION CAN PAY FOR:

Crime related:

- Medical costs
- Funerals up to \$5,000

- Counseling up to 36 months
- Work loss Minimum wage Sick leave & vacation leave available must be utilized first.

The maximum award of any one claim is \$20,000.

VICTIM COMPENSATION <u>CANNOT</u> PAY FOR:

- Clean up
- Property loss or repair
- Pain and suffering
- Attorney fees
- Victimization of a person serving a sentence of imprisonment in a detention facility, home arrest, or work furlough, or who has escaped imprisonment in a detention facility, home arrest, or work furlough program.

DEFINITIONS

VICTIM

"Victim" means a person who suffers physical injury, extreme mental distress, or death as a direct result of any of the following:

- a. Criminally injurious conduct;
- b. An act of international terrorism;
- c. A person's good faith effort to prevent criminally injurious conduct; or
- d. A person's good faith effort to apprehend a person suspected of engaging in criminally injurious conduct or an act of international terrorism

DERIVATIVE VICTIM

"Derivative victim" means:

- a. The spouse, child, parent, stepparent, stepchild, sibling, or guardian of a victim who died as a result of criminally injurious conduct or act of international terrorism and includes a child born after the victim's death.
- b. A person living in the household of a victim who died as a result of criminally injurious conduct.
- c. A member of the victim's family who witnessed the criminally injurious conduct.
- d. A non-family member who witnessed a violent crime.
- e. A person whose mental health counseling and care or presence during the victim's mental health counseling and care is required for the successful treatment of the victim.

CLAIMANT

"Claimant" means any natural person filing a claim under these rules and authorized to receive a compensation award for economic loss because the person is:

- a. A victim of criminally injurious;
- b. A resident of this state who is injured by an act of international terrorism;
- c. A derivative victim:
- d. A person authorized to act on a victim's behalf, or a person authorized to act on behalf of a deceased victim's dependent if the victim died as a direct result of criminally injurious conduct or an act of international terrorism; or
- e. A person who assumes an obligation or pays an expense directly related to a victim's economic loss incurred as a direct result of criminally injurious conduct or an act of international terrorism.

HOW DO I GET MORE INFORMATION?

The Crime Victim Compensation Board is administered through the County Attorney's Offices in each of Arizona's fifteen counties. Awards for crime victims are approved by the Crime Victim Compensation Boards. Innocent victims of crime may apply for eligible compensation in the county where the crime occurred.

For further information, please call the Crime Victim Compensation Program in the county where the crime occurred. Phone numbers are listed below:

Apache County Attorney's Office

(520) 337-4364

Mohave County Attorney's Office (520) 718-5522

Cochise County Attorney's Office

(520) 432-9377

Navajo County Attorney's Office

(520) 524-4026

Coconino County Attorney's Office

(520) 779-6163

Pima County Attorney's Office

(520) 740-5525

Gila County Attorney's Office

(520) 425-3231

Pinal County Attorney's Office

(520) 868-6271

Graham County Attorney's Office

(520) 428-4787

Santa Cruz Co Attorney's Office

(520) 281-5868

Greenlee County Attorney's Office

(520) 865-4108

Yavapai County Attorney's Office (520) 771-3485

La Paz County Attorney's Office

(520) 669-6118

Yuma County Attorney's Office

(520) 329-2133

Maricopa County Attorney's Office (602) 506-4955