Placeholder Banner Image

Geographic Divisions

The District of Maryland includes two geographic divisions. The Southern Division, shown in gray below, encompasses the counties of Calvert, Charles, Prince George’s, Montgomery and St. Mary’s. Cases arising in the Southern Division are filed in the Greenbelt federal courthouse, in Prince George’s County. More than 20 Assistant U.S. Attorneys are based in Greenbelt.

The Northern Division, shown in red below, encompasses the city of Baltimore, and the remaining 18 counties. Cases arising in the Northern Division are filed in the Baltimore federal courthouse. More than 60 criminal and civil lawyers handle cases in the Northern Division from our office in downtown Baltimore.


District of Maryland Geographic Divisions

(Click the image to enlarge)



Return to Top

USAO Homepage
Maryland Exile
Project Safe Childhood

Help us combat the proliferation of sexual exploitation crimes against children.


Protect yourself from fraud, and report suspected cases of financial fraud to local law enforcement.

Don't Lose Yourself in a Gang

Talk to your kids about gangs and how to avoid them.

Maryland Human Trafficking Task Force
Stay Connected with Twitter