About the District of Oregon

The United States Attorney's Office for the District of Oregon is one of 93 U.S. Attorney's Offices in the United States and its territories, all of which are part of the United States Department of Justice.

United States Attorneys conduct most of the trial work in which the United States is a party and have three statutory responsibilities under Title 28, Section 507, of the United States Code:

  1. The prosecution of criminal cases brought by the federal government;
  2. The prosecution and defense of civil cases in which the United States is a party; and
  3. The collection of debts owed the federal government which are administratively uncollectible.

The United States Attorney's Office for the District of Oregon has 107 employees, with the main office located in Portland, where nearly half the population of the state lives. There are two branch offices also in the Oregon District, one in Eugene and one in Medford. There are two divisions, criminal and civil.


To pursue justice as we represent the United States of America in civil and criminal litigation in the most effective manner possible.

To provide leadership in our interactions with all federal, state, and local agencies as well as the community, and to serve as a liaison between them.

To foster public trust and confidence in law enforcement and the federal judicial system.

Return to Top

United States Attorneys 225th Anniversary
USAO Homepage
USAO Briefing Room
Stay Connected: Visit us on Twitter

Oficinas de los Fiscales de Estados Unidos En Español