LECC program banner


Second annual ceremony lauds students for exceptional character, commitment to social justice

On April 25, 2013, United States Attorney Booth Goodwin recognized 57 high school juniors as U.S. Attorney’s Ambassadors for Justice during an afternoon ceremony at the Culture Center in Charleston.  The U.S. Attorney’s Ambassadors for Justice program is an initiative led by the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Southern District of West Virginia. It honors high school juniors who have shown outstanding leadership skills and a commitment to social justice. 

The April 25 ceremony marked the second time U.S. Attorney Goodwin has recognized young leaders from high schools in the Southern District of West Virginia as Ambassadors for Justice.    

“I am very pleased to honor the second class of high school juniors from throughout the Southern District as my Ambassadors for Justice,” U.S. Attorney Goodwin said.  “These 57 students have each demonstrated a powerful ethical compass.  They’ve exemplified tremendous leadership.” 
Goodwin continued, “Their ideas and perspectives are invaluable.  These are students who are willing to step forward and do something if one of their peers makes a self-destructive decision or bullies someone else.”

Goodwin said that his office is deeply concerned about problems facing young people in his district.  “This isn't just an award or a title. This is an ongoing mission for me, my office, our schools, our communities, and for each of these Ambassadors for Justice, so that together we can exert positive influences in our schools and communities,” said Goodwin.

The U.S. Attorney’s Ambassadors for Justice program was created by U.S. Attorney Goodwin last year in response to rising school bullying and social media threats involving young people.  The program was also spurred by a February 2012 school shooting at Chardon High School in Chardon, Ohio, in which a student opened fire on his classmates, killing three and wounding two others. Other episodes involving planned violent attacks by young people that were prevented due to the swift actions of students and school Prevention Resource Officers here in the Southern District of West Virginia have also encouraged U.S. Attorney Goodwin's initiative.   

Nominations to be U.S. Attorney’s Ambassadors for Justice are made by school principals and administrative leaders.  Goodwin said that outstanding character, devotion to citizenship, and a commitment to serving others are fundamentals for nomination.  This year, 57 out of 59 high schools in the 23-county Southern District of West Virginia nominated outstanding students to be Ambassadors for Justice.    

Click the image below to enlarge to full screen

2013 U.S. Attorney's Ambassadors for Justice

The 2013 U.S. Attorney’s Ambassadors for Justice are as follows (by student name/high school/county):


Boone County

Sydney Burdette, Sherman High School

Sydney Burdette

Haleigh Foxx, Van Jr./Sr. High School  

Haleigh Foxx

Kendyl Ryan, Scott High School (not pictured)        


Cabell County

Anthony Jaime, Huntington High School

Anthony Jamie


Jaime Schussler, Cabell Midland High School (Cabell Co.)  

Jamie Schussler


Clay County

Elizabeth Remias, Clay County High School      

Elizabeth Remias


Fayette County

Bradley Higginbotham, Valley High School (not pictured)


Jonathan Hildebrand, Midland Trail High School

Jonathan Hildebrand


Felicia  Pomeroy, Meadow Bridge High School

Felicia Pomeroy

Hali Zink, Oak Hill High School

Hali Zink


Greenbrier County

Taylor  Gilkeson, Greenbrier West High School

 Taylor Gilkeson


Heather Vallandingham, Greenbrier East High School (not pictured)    


Jackson County

Talia Martinez, Ravenswood High School

Talia Martinez

Nathan Tucker, Ripley High School    

Nathan Tucker


Kanawha County

Hunter Chandler, Herbert Hoover High School

Hunter Chandler

Camden Elliott, George Washington High School

Camden Elliott


Matt Jarvis, Nitro High School

Matt Jarvis

Dakota Kelly, St. Albans High School (not pictured)

Rachel Daw, Riverside High School

Rachel Daw

Morgan King, Capital High School

Morgan King

Derek Nelson, South Charleston High School

Derek Nelson


Cody Taylor, Sissonville High School

Cody Taylor


Logan County

Joey Buchanon, Man High School

Joey Buchanon

McGinnis Dalton, Logan Senior High School  

McGinnis Dalton


Lincoln County

Logan Miller, Lincoln County High School

Logan Miller


Mason County

Ayla Edwards, Point Pleasant Jr./Sr. High School Point

Ayla Edwards


Wynston Lloyd, Hannan Jr./Sr. High School

Wynston Lloyd


Paige Stanhope, Wahama Jr./Sr. High School

Paige Stanhope


McDowell County

Ryan Blankenship, River View High School

Ryan Blankenship


Mercer County

Vaughn Campbell, Pike View High School

Vaughn Campbell

Will Hickman, Princeton Senior High School

Will Hickman

Molly Lovern, Bluefield High School (not pictured)

Robert Punturi III, Montcalm High School (not pictured)    


Mingo County

Julius Hatcher, Mingo Central High School

Julius Hatcher

David  Runyon, Tug Valley High School    

David Runyon


Monroe County

Elliott Judy, James Monroe High School

Elliott Judy


Nicholas County

Jesse Borrell, Nicholas County High School (not pictured)

Benjamin Weber, Richwood High School (not pictured)    


Putnam County

Cory Hoshor, Buffalo High School

Cory Hoshor

Carla Haikal, Winfield High School

Carla Haikal

Sarah Lawrence, Hurricane High School

Sarah Lawrence


Kyle McClanahan, Poca High School

Kyle McClanahan


Raleigh County

Adam Pack, Independence High School

Adam Pack


Luke Stover, Liberty High School

Luke Stover

McKenna Williamson, Shady Spring High School

McKenna Williamson


Aniket Zinzuwadia, Woodrow Wilson High School (not pictured)              


Roane County

Kennedy Roberts, Roane County

Kennedy Roberts


Wayne County

Payton Fetty, Wayne County High School

Payton Fetty

Kristen Griffith, Tolsia High School  

Kristen Griffith


Meredith Hall, Spring Valley High School      

Meredith Hall


Wirt County

Leah Haines, Wirt County High School

Leah Haines


Wood County

Shalin Gandhi, Parkersburg High School

Shalin Gandhi


Allison Walker, Parkersburg South High School (not pictured)


Matthew Zlatkind, Williamstown High School

Matthew Zlatkind


Wyoming County

Anna Davis, Westside High School

Anna Davis

Savannah Lusk, Wyoming East High School  (not pictured)



Ambassadors For Justice 2012

Ambassadors For Justice 2014



Return to Top

Safe Schools Report

learn more


U.S. Attorney Booth Goodwin In The Community

learn more

Defending Childhood

West Virginia Children Exposed to Violence Initiative

learn more

Safe Seniors

Help keep West Virginia's senior citizens safe

learn more
Stay Connected: Visit us on Twitter