Summary of State Wrongful Death and Intestacy Statutes

Wrongful Death Laws

Economic Portion of the Presumed Award

Intestacy Laws

Priority Under Intestate Laws

When there are Children of Different

New Jersey Damages are distributed to those eligible to
recover under intestate law, in proportion to their

pecuniary loss.

Pecuniary loss is defined by the New Jersey
Wrongful Death statute and cases interpreting the
statute.

See N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A: 31-4 (2002).

1. Spouse and no parents or
children-- everything to spouse.

2. Spouse and children - spouse
takes the first $50,000 plus %2 of
the balance of the estate if the
children are also the spouse’s. If
they are not, spouse only takes /-
of the estate. Remainder is
divided equally among the
children in the same generation.

3. Spouse and parents (no
children) - spouse takes the first
$50,000 plus ¥ of the balance of
the estate. Remainder is divided
equally among parents.

4. No children but parents --
parents share equally.

5. No parents -- the parent’s
children take all (i.e. brothers
and sisters or their descendants).
Shares are divided equally
among the children in the same
generation.

See N.J. Stat. Ann. § 3B: 5-3
(2002).

Generations (ie. grandchildren)

The estate is divided into as many shares
as there are living members of the nearest
generation of children to the victim,
including deceased children in the same
generation who left behind children.
Each surviving heir in the nearest
generation to the victim receives one
share and the share of each deceased
person in the same generation is divided
among his or her descendants in the same
manner.

See N.J. Stat. Ann. § 3B: 5-3 (2002).

This is a general summary. It is only meant to provide information to personal representatives regarding relevant state law in order to guide them in devising
plans for distributions that are consistent with state law. It does not include distributions when none of the relatives set forth in these charts is alive. Calculation
of the total award is determined by the Fund’s regulations. This is not a substitute for state law, and to the extent state law varies with this chart, state law
controls. For more information, an attorney familiar with state statutes and case law should be consulted.



