National Security Division organization chartd

The mission of the National Security Division (NSD) of the Department of Justice is to carry out the Department’s highest priority: to combat terrorism and other threats to national security. The NSD, which consolidates the Department’s primary national security elements within a single Division, currently consists of the Office of Intelligence Policy and Review; the Counterterrorism and Counterespionage Sections, formerly part of the Criminal Division; and a new Law and Policy Office. This organizational structure ensures greater coordination and unity of purpose between prosecutors and law enforcement agencies, on the one hand, and intelligence attorneys and the Intelligence Community, on the other, thus strengthening the effectiveness of the Department’s national security efforts.

The Division is led by an Assistant Attorney General and supported by three Deputy Assistant Attorneys General, who oversee the Division’s three components.

The Division’s major responsibilities include:

Intelligence Operations and Coordination:




Law and Policy:

Return to the table of contents