Department of Justice Seal Department of Justice
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 20, 2002
WWW.USDOJ.GOV
AT
(202) 514-2007
TDD (202) 514-1888

CHARLES A. JAMES TO PARTICIPATE IN FIRST ANNUAL INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION NETWORK CONFERENCE IN NAPLES, ITALY

Conference Marks Unprecedented Meeting Of Over 50 Jurisdictions
To Discuss Antitrust Issues


WASHINGTON, D.C. Charles A. James, Assistant Attorney General in charge of the Department's Antitrust Division, will participate in the first annual International Competition Network Conference in Naples, Italy on September 28-29, 2002. The conference is an unprecedented meeting of antitrust agencies from over 50 jurisdictions from six continents who will come together to discuss antitrust issues.

The main focus of the conference will be to discuss issues arising in the context of mergers subject to multi-jurisdictional review and with the role of antitrust authorities as advocates for competition-oriented reform. Panel discussions will review the efforts of two working groups that were formed in October 2001 to consider these issues. Topics of discussion will include: guiding principles and recommended practices for merger notification and review, substantive standards of merger review and competition advocacy. The conference also will enable the participants to discuss future work efforts.

In October 2001, the Department of Justice and the Federal Trade Commission joined with competition agencies from 13 other jurisdictions around the world (Australia, Canada, European Union, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, South Africa, United Kingdom and Zambia) to create the International Competition Network (ICN). The original concept for ICN grew out of the report of the International Competition Policy Advisory Committee, which recommended the formation of a global network of competition authorities to focus exclusively on competition issues.

The ICN has two main goals: 1) to provide support for new antitrust agencies both in enforcing their laws and in building strong competition cultures in their countries and 2) to promote greater convergence among antitrust authorities on sound competition principles. The ICN involves consultation with representatives of international organizations, economists, industry and consumer associations, and members of the academic community. It seeks to develop "best practice" recommendations for antitrust enforcement and competition advocacy. Any "best practice" recommendations would then be implemented voluntarily by the member agencies.

The following portions of the conference will be open to the press:

SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 28:

9:00 a.m. (CET), 3:00 a.m. (ET) Welcoming Address

Mayor of Naples, Rosa Russo Jervolino

9:15 a.m. (CET), 3:15 a.m. (ET) Introductory Remarks

Giuseppe Tesauro, Chairman, Italian Competition Authority and Konrad von Finckenstein, Commissioner, Canadian Competition Bureau will make introductory remarks.

9:45 a.m. (CET), 3:45 a.m. (ET) Competition Advocacy and Antitrust Authorities

Timothy J. Muris, Chairman of the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) will make introductory remarks. A general discussion will be chaired by Fernando Sanchez Ugarte, Chairman, Mexican Federal Competition Commission.

11:45 p.m. (CET), 5:30 a.m. (ET) Analytical Framework of Merger Review

Mario Monti, Commissioner for Competition, European Commission will make introductory remarks. A general discussion will be chaired by John Vickers, Director General, Office of Fair Trading, United Kingdom.

3:30 p.m. (CET), 9:30 a.m. (ET) Guiding Principles and Recommended Practices for Merger Notification and Review

Charles A. James, Assistant Attorney General of the Department of Justice's Antitrust Division will make introductory remarks. A general discussion will be chaired by Randolph Tritell, Assistant Director for International Antitrust, FTC.

SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 29:

9:00 a.m. (CET), 3:00 a.m. (ET) Future Work Program

Nam-Kee Lee, Chairman, Korea Fair Trade Commission will make introductory remarks. A general discussion will be chaired by Fernando Sanchez Ugarte, chair of the next annual conference and Konrad von Finckenstein, chair of the ICN interim steering group.

10:30 a.m. (CET), 4:30 a.m. (ET) The Perspective of Non-Governmental Advisors.

James F. Rill, former Co-Chair, International Competition Policy Advisory Committee, U.S. Department of Justice.

6:00 p.m. (CET), Noon (ET) Press Availability

Participants expected to participate: Assistant Attorney General Charles A. James; Chairman Timothy J. Muris; Giuseppe Tesauro, President, Italian Competition Authority; Konrad von Finckenstein, Commissioner, Canadian Competition Bureau; and Mario Monti, Commissioner for Competition, European Commission.

Media contacts: U.S. Department of Justice, Susan Dryden, 202-514-2007

Federal Trade Commission, Cathy MacFarlane, 202-326-3657

Canadian Bureau of Competition, Sally Southey, 819-994-4994

Italian Competition Authority, Roberto Sommella, 011-39-06-48-16-24-31

Complete information about the conference is available at www.internationalcompetitionnetwork.org.

Location of the ICN Conference:Castel Dell'Ovo

Naples, Italy

###

02-538