Department of Justice Seal Department of Justice
(202) 514-2008
TDD (202) 514-1888


WASHINGTON, D.C.– Assistant Attorney General Michael Chertoff today announced the appointment of a new chief of staff for the Criminal Division and several other changes in the management of the division. The changes follow a recent reorganization and realignment of some of the Division's programs and resources in response to the Attorney General's directive to make the fight against terrorism the Department's overriding priority.

The changes announced today include the appointment of Julie Myers as Chief of Staff for the Criminal Division; Barry Sabin as chief of the Counterterrorism Section of the Criminal Division; and Noel Hillman as chief of the Public Integrity Section.

"Now more than ever, the Division relies on experience and vision to assist in the war on terrorism and the Justice Department's crackdowns on corporate fraud and public corruption," Chertoff said. "I congratulate all employees of the Criminal Division for their hard work and dedication, and I look forward to working with the new management team as we continue our critical mission."

As Chief of Staff, Myers replaces Matthew Martens, who is joining the United States Attorney's Office for the Western District of North Carolina as an Assistant U.S. Attorney specializing in white collar prosecutions. Prior to joining the Criminal Division late last year, Myers was Deputy Assistant Secretary for Money Laundering and Financial Crimes at the Department of Treasury. Previously, she was an Assistant U.S. Attorney in the Eastern District of New York, specializing in business and securities fraud cases, and also served as an Associate Independent Counsel in the Office of Independent Counsel Kenneth W. Starr.

Barry Sabin, a career federal prosecutor, has been named Chief of the Counterterrorism Section. Sabin has served as acting chief of the section since August 2002. Sabin joined the Criminal Division after almost 12 years in the U.S. Attorney's Office for the Southern District of Florida. While most recently serving as First Assistant U.S. Attorney in that office, Sabin also served as Chief of the Criminal Division, Chief of the Major Prosecutions and Violent Crimes Section, Chief of the Special Investigations Unit, and Deputy Chief of the Economic Crimes Section.

Noel Hillman, also a career federal prosecutor, has been named Chief of the Public Integrity Section. Hillman has served as acting chief of the section since September 2002. He joined the Public Integrity Section as Principal Deputy Chief after nine years in the U.S. Attorney's Office for the District of New Jersey. While at the U.S. Attorney's Office, Hillman served as Deputy Chief of the Criminal Division, in the Office's Fraud and Public Protection Divsion, and on detail to the Justice Department's Campaign Financing Task Force.

Other recent changes to the Division include:

•The establishment of a new Domestic Security Section in the Criminal Division, utilizing the resources and expertise associated with the Alien Smuggling Task Force and the violent crime-related resources in the Terrorism and Violent Crime Section, which is now named the Counterterrorism Section. Teresa McHenry, the director of the Alien Smuggling Task Force, has been named Acting Chief of the Domestic Security Section, and Bruce Delaplaine has been named Acting Deputy Chief of the new section.

•The Internal Security Section has been renamed the Counterespionage Section, to better depict the Section's mission. John Dion is the Chief of the Counterespionage Section.