Department of Justice Seal Department of Justice
TUESDAY, MAY 17, 2005
(202) 514-2007
TDD (202) 514-1888


Award To Be Presented By Antitrust Division In Recognition Of Judge Bork’S Lifetime Contributions To Antitrust Law And Policy

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Judge Robert H. Bork will receive the John Sherman Award from the Antitrust Division for his lifetime contributions to the teaching and enforcement of antitrust law and the development of antitrust policy, the Department of Justice announced today. The award will be presented during a ceremony on May 19, 2005 in the Great Hall of the Robert F. Kennedy Department of Justice Building.

"Judge Bork has played a critical role in the advancement of sound antitrust enforcement, and it is a privilege for the Division to recognize his outstanding antitrust career with this award,” said R. Hewitt Pate, Assistant Attorney General for the Antitrust Division.

The John Sherman Award was created in 1994 and is presented by the Department's Antitrust Division to a person or persons in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the field of antitrust law, the protection of American consumers, and the preservation of economic liberty.

Judge Bork received both his undergraduate and law degrees at the University of Chicago. Early in his career, Judge Bork was an associate and partner with the law firm of Kirkland & Ellis before joining the faculty at Yale Law School. He served as the Alexander M. Bickel Professor of Public Law at Yale Law School from 1962 to 1981, with time off to serve as Solicitor General. Judge Bork served as Solicitor General from 1973 to 1977; acting Attorney General from 1973 to 1974; and Circuit Judge of the U. S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit from 1982 to 1988. Among Judge Bork’s many contributions to the development of antitrust law, he is the author of The Antitrust Paradox. Judge Bork's writings on antitrust law have had a profound influence on the Supreme Court's antitrust jurisprudence. Judge Bork is a former scholar with the American Enterprise Institute and is currently a Distinguished Senior Fellow at the Hudson Institute. He is a distinguished jurist, legal scholar, best selling author, lecturer, and frequent media commentator.

The award is named for the author of the Sherman Act of 1890, the nation's first and foremost antitrust law. John Sherman, a former congressman and senator, also served as Secretary of the Treasury from 1877 to 1881 and as Secretary of State from 1897 to 1898. Previous recipients have included Richard A. Posner (2003), Milton Handler (1998), Thomas Kauper and William Baxter (1996), Phillip Areeda (1995), and Senator Howard Metzenbaum (1994).