Department of Justice Seal Department of Justice
(202) 514-2007
TDD (202) 514-1888

Attorney General Mukasey Appoints Four New Members to Attorney General's Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON – Attorney General Michael B. Mukasey today announced the appointment of four new members of his 2008 Attorney General’s Advisory Committee of United States Attorneys.

The Advisory Committee plays a vital role in furthering the Department's law enforcement efforts. Together, in partnership with state, local and federal authorities, the Advisory Committee will be crucial in advancing the Department's law enforcement mission in areas such as terrorism, violent crime, public corruption, and civil rights.

The new members, who will serve two-year terms, are Patrick J. Fitzgerald, U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Illinois; Reginald I. Lloyd, U.S. Attorney, District of South Carolina; Rodger A. Heaton, U.S. Attorney, Central District of Illinois; and Gretchen Witt, Civil Chief, District of New Hampshire.

The Attorney General also reappointed four current members of the Committee to serve through Dec. 31, 2009: U.S. Attorneys David E. Nahmias, Northern District of Georgia; Drew Wrigley, District of North Dakota; Donald W. Washington, Western District of Louisiana; and Gretchen C. F. Shappert, Western District of North Carolina.

"I respect each of these distinguished prosecutors and have come to rely upon the good counsel of the Advisory Committee, drawn from the collective wisdom of all United States Attorneys" said Attorney General Mukasey. "I look forward to working closely with the Committee as we develop Department policy and as we continue our fight against terrorism, violent crime, and public corruption."

Patrick J. Fitzgerald began serving as the U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Illinois on Sept. 1, 2001. He previously served on the Attorney General’s Advisory Committee from 2001-2005 and was Chair of the subcommittee on terrorism. He is also a member of the President’s Corporate Fraud Task Force.

Reginald I. Lloyd assumed his role as U.S. Attorney for the District of South Carolina on Feb. 28, 2006.  He previously served as a judge on the South Carolina Circuit Court, a position he held since May 2003; and as Chief Counsel to the Judiciary Committee of the South Carolina House of Representatives from 1998-2000.

Rodger A. Heaton has served as U.S. Attorney for the Central District of Illinois since Dec. 1, 2005. He previously served as Chief of the district’s Appellate Division, and most recently as Chief of its Civil Division, where he supervised the district’s civil court matters including health-care fraud litigation, employment discrimination, enforcement of the Americans With Disabilities Act, environmental issues, bankruptcy, and collections.

Gretchen Witt has served as Civil Chief in the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of New Hampshire since 1992, and has been an Assistant U.S. Attorney since 1986.  She served as the District’s First Assistant in 1993 and was interim U.S. Attorney from June to December 2001.  She currently leads the Advisory Committee’s Civil Chief’s Working Group. 

The following is a list of the full 2008 Advisory Committee:

-Karin J. Immergut, U.S. Attorney, District of Oregon, Chair

-Chuck Rosenberg, U.S. Attorney, Eastern District of Virginia, Vice Chair

-Leura Garrett Canary, U.S. Attorney, Middle District of Alabama

-Patrick J. Fitzgerald, U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Illinois

-Michael Garcia, U.S. Attorney, Southern District of New York

-Rodger A. Heaton, U.S. Attorney, Central District of Illinois

-Reginald I. Lloyd, U.S. Attorney, District of South Carolina

-Thomas E. Moss, U.S. Attorney, District of Idaho

-David E. Nahmias, U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Georgia

-Rod J. Rosenstein, U.S. Attorney, District of Maryland

-Gretchen C. F. Shappert, U.S. Attorney, Western District of North Carolina

-Jeffrey Taylor, U.S. Attorney, District of Columbia

-Donald W. Washington, U.S. Attorney, Western District of Louisiana

-Gregory A. White, U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Ohio

-Drew Wrigley, U.S. Attorney, District of North Dakota

-Johnny Sutton, U.S. Attorney, Western District of Texas, ex officio

-Gretchen Witt, Civil Chief, District of New Hampshire