

#### Presentation of

# The 2022 Antitrust Division Assistant Attorney General Awards

Wednesday, October 26, 2022 3:00–5:00 p.m.

The Great Hall
U.S. Department of Justice
Robert F. Kennedy Building
Washington, D.C.

#### **PROGRAM**

National	Anthem	Chor	dinated	Effects

Introductory Remarks...... Jonathan Kanter Assistant Attorney General

 $\label{eq:continuous} \begin{aligned} & \text{Presentation of Awards.....} & \text{Jonathan Kanter} \\ & & \text{Assistant Attorney General} \end{aligned}$ 

Doha Mekki Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Susan Athey *Chief Economist* 

Hetal Doshi

Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Andrew Forman

Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Michael Kades

Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Margaret Goodlander

Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Marvin Price
Director of Criminal Enforcement

Walt Cain *Executive Officer* 

Closing Remarks ...... Jonathan Kanter
Assistant Attorney General

#### AWARD RECIPIENTS AND ORDER OF PRESENTATION

#### ~ Individual Awards ~

Aaron Comenetz, Sam Krumholtz, Grant Lawson, Karina Lubell, Emma Burnham, David Lawrence

#### ~ Team Awards ~

#### Defense, Industrials, and Aerospace Section

Attorneys: Soyoung Choe, Jay Owen, Alexander Andresian, John Briggs, John Donaldson, Robert Duncan, Matthew Fellows, James Foster, Kerrie Freeborn, Jenigh Garrett, Rachel Hansen, Stephen Harris, Natalie Hayes, Christine Hill, Matthew Huppert, Miranda Isaacs, Daniel Monahan, Catherine Montezuma,

Gabriella Moskowitz, Veronica Onyema, Kevin Quin, Katrina Rouse, Lowell Stern, Angela Ting, Rebecca Valentine, Bryn Williams

Paralegals: Demosthenes Daniel, Elizabeth Fairman, Dylan Halpern, Sophie Jackson, Alice Kane, Elizabeth Knight, Jakob Levin, Holly Miranda, Jenna Rahrle, John Sposito, William Tampke, Grace Torrance, Samuel Whitthorne, Andrew Zach Administrative Assistant: Darlene Dickens

#### Criminal Jury Charge Guide Team

Attorneys: Stratton Strand, Jim Fredricks, Leslie Wulff, Peter Bozzo, Betsy Homan, Manish Kumar, Andrew Mast, Jeff Negrette, Jariel Rendell, Matthew Waring Paralegals: Henry Bolster, Hannah Stubbs

#### Remote Trial Support Team

**Executive Office:** Robbin Andrews, Claro Gonzales, Jennifer Williams, Adam High, Dean Cranford, Jeff White, Grant Lawson, Alison Hare, Jeff Howard, Barbara Jones,

Carletta Dunham, Luz Quivers, William "Curtis" Crawford, John Kost, Daniel Stein, Linda Van Stavern

#### **Broiler Chickens Administrative Support Team**

Administrative Assistants: Priscilla Scruggs, Juliet Jones, Oscar Dixton, Ed Bernard, Steven Taylor, Tracy Shorter

Executive Office: Carletta Dunham, John Kost, Dan Stein

~ Trial Teams ~

United States v. Guillory Team

United States v. Marifat Team

United States v. Keyes Team

United States v. Jindal Team

United States v. Verzatec Team

**Broiler Chickens Litigation Team** 

United States v. UnitedHealth Group, Inc., et al. Team

United States v. Padron Team

United States v. United States Sugar Corp., et al. Team

United States v. Booz Allen Hamilton, et al. Team

United States v. DaVita Team

United States v. Bertelsmann SE & Co., et al. Team

United States v. Brewbaker Team

#### ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL HONORARY AWARD RECIPIENTS

#### WILLIAM F. BAXTER AWARD

#### Russell Pittman

(Presented in recognition of the long-term achievement and exemplary work ethic of an outstanding career litigator and litigation manager in furthering the mission of the Division.)

### ENFORCEMENT SUPPORT AWARD Melody Smith

(Presented in recognition of long-term dedication and consistent excellent performance in support of the Division's law enforcement mission.)

### PRO BONO SERVICE AWARD

#### Cassi Wiseman

(Presented in recognition of tireless effort and dedication to public service by providing substantial contributions in the area of pro bono legal services for those of whom the scales of justice may have been unbalanced.)

## EMPOWERING THE MISSION AWARD Tung Vu

#### Janet Payne/Suzanne Morris/Perry Apelbaum

(Presented in recognition of demonstrated excellence in administration and customer service that have significantly improved the efficiency, effectiveness, and accountability of Division operations.)

# ILENE G. BLOCK and ANNE PURCELL WHITE AWARD for ETHICS and INTEGRITY

#### **Tracy Fisher**

(Presented in recognition of the demonstration of highest standards for ethics and integrity in carrying out the Division's mission.)

#### NEIL E. ROBERTS AWARD for EXCELLENCE in ANTITRUST ENFORCEMENT Caldwell Harrop

(Presented in recognition of excellence, leadership, and dedication in the enforcement of antitrust law.)

#### JOHN HUGHES AWARD for EXCELLENCE in CARTEL ENFORCEMENT Evitayo "Tee" St. Matthew Daniel

(Presented in recognition of achievement, exemplary work ethic, and career dedication in criminal antitrust enforcement at the Division.)

#### HUGH P. MORRISON, Jr. AWARD Eric Welsh

(Presented in recognition of the long-term achievement and exemplary work ethic of an outstanding career litigator and litigation manager in furthering the mission of the Division.)

