New Order: New Holy Grail - Industry Consolidation

New Order: New Holy Grail - Industry Consolidation

The major airlines have consolidated to 5 from 9 since 2005.

A graph showing consolidation in the airline industry since 2005. Before 2005, nine major airlines existed: US Airways, America West, Delta, Northwest, United, Continental, Southwest, airTran, and American Airlines.

  • In 2005, US Airways merged with America West to become US Airways
  • In 2008, Delta merged with Northwest to become Delta
  • In 2010, United merged with Continental to become United
  • After 2010, Southwest merged with airTran to become Southwest

After 2010, the five remaining major airlines were US Airways, Delta, United, Southwest, and American Airlines.

Return to Document

Updated June 25, 2015

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No