Sherman Award

Division Update Spring 2010

Professor Robert Pitofsky

Robert Pitofsky

Attorney General Eric Holder Presents Department’s Highest Antitrust Award to Professor Robert Pitofsky

Professor Robert Pitofsky received the Department of Justice’s highest antitrust honor, the Sherman Award, in recognition of his outstanding lifetime contributions to the protection of American consumers and the preservation of economic liberty. The award was presented during a celebration of the Antitrust Division’s 120th Anniversary on April 20, 2010, in the Great Hall of the Robert F. Kennedy Department of Justice Building.

Professor Pitofsky is a full-time faculty member and former Dean (1983–1989) of Georgetown University’s Law Center as well as Of Counsel to the Washington office of the law firm of Arnold & Porter LLP. He has served as Chairman (1995–2001) and Commissioner (1978–1981) of the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), the Director (1970–1973) of the Bureau of Consumer Protection of the FTC, and counsel to the American Bar Association Commission to Study the FTC. In naming Professor Pitofsky, Assistant Attorney General Christine Varney said, “His dedication to the law and the fundamental ideals of antitrust enforcement is unparalleled. Having worked with Bob at the FTC and known him as a mentor and guide for 15 years, I cannot think of anyone more singularly appropriate upon which to bestow this honor.”

Professor Pitofsky’s academic work has been critical to the promotion of a more sound understanding of antitrust law. The Antitrust Division and antitrust practitioners around the world have come to rely on his valuable writings, thoughtful analyses, and clear-sighted vision in shaping antitrust policy in an increasingly international marketplace. His recent writings include “New Definitions of Relevant Market and the Assault on Antitrust” and “Proposals for Revised Merger Enforcement in a Global Economy.”

The award is named for the author of the Sherman Act of 1890, the nation’s first and foremost antitrust law. John Sherman, a former congressman and senator, also served as Secretary of the Treasury from 1877 to 1881 and as Secretary of State from 1897 to 1898. Since its inception in 1994, the Division has presented the award just seven times. Past recipients are Senator Howard Metzenbaum (1994), Phillip E. Areeda (1995), Thomas E. Kauper and William F. Baxter (1996), Milton Handler (1998), Judge Richard A. Posner (2003), Judge Robert H. Bork (2005), and Professor Herbert Hovenkamp (2008).

Updated July 21, 2015

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No