Organization, Mission and Functions Manual: Foreign Claims Settlement Commission

Foreign Claims Settlement Commission organization chartd

The Foreign Claims Settlement Commission of the United States (FCSC) was established under Reorganization Plan No. 1 of 1954. In 1980, pursuant to Public Law 96-209, the FCSC was transferred to the Department of Justice as a separate agency within the Department.

The primary mission of the FCSC is to receive, examine, adjudicate, and render final decisions with respect to claims of U.S. nationals against foreign governments.  By statute, the FCSC is authorized to administer claims included within the terms of an agreement between the United States and a foreign government and claims referred to the FCSC by the Department of State.

The major functions of the FCSC are to:

  • Determine claims of U.S. nationals for loss and injury arising from certain terrorist incidents as authorized by the International Claims Settlement Act of 1949 (ICSA), as amended (22 U.S.C. 1621-1645o).
  • Determine claims of U.S. nationals for loss of property in specific foreign countries as the result of nationalization or other taking by the governments of those countries as authorized by the ICSA.
  • Determine claims of any previously unrecognized United States military personnel and civilian American citizens who were held in captured status in the Vietnam conflict, as authorized by the War Claims Act of 1948, as amended (50 U.S.C. App. 2001-2017p).
  • Service information requests relating to the 45 completed international and war claims programs previously administered by the FCSC, and report to Congress and executive departments on potential programs.

Return to the table of contents

Updated September 9, 2014

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No