Skip to main content
Press Release

Justice Department Announces Funding Opportunities for Federally-Recognized Tribes and Tribal Consortia

For Immediate Release
Office of Public Affairs
Funding Will Support Projects Addressing Public Safety, Victim Services, and Crime Prevention in Indian Country

The U.S. Department of Justice today announced the opening of a comprehensive grant solicitation for funding to support public safety, victim services, and crime prevention by American Indian and Alaska Native governments. The department’s FY 2014 Coordinated Tribal Assistance Solicitation (CTAS) is available at .

“Over the past four years, more than $437 million in much-needed assistance has been provided to American Indian and Alaska Native communities through the Coordinated Tribal Assistance Solicitation,” said Associate Attorney General Tony West.  “These resources are helping to strengthen justice, hope, and healing in tribal communities and are supporting efforts to intervene in the lives of at-risk youth, prevent violence against women, improve community policing, and explore alternatives to incarceration.”

CTAS is administered by the Justice Department’s Office of Justice Programs (OJP), the Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS) and the Office on Violence Against Women (OVW). The funding can be used to enhance law enforcement; bolster adult and juvenile justice systems; prevent and control juvenile delinquency; serve victims of sexual assault, domestic violence, and elder abuse; and support other efforts to combat crime.

Applications for CTAS are submitted through the Justice Department’s Grants Management System (GMS) which enables grantees to register and apply for CTAS online. Applicants should register early, and no later than Tuesday, March 4, 2014, in order to resolve difficulties in advance of the application deadline. The deadline for submitting applications in response to this grant announcement is 7:00 p.m. EST on Monday, March 24, 2014 .

The FY 2014 CTAS reflects improvements and refinements from earlier versions. The department received feedback from tribal leaders during tribal consultations and listening sessions, from written comments from applicants and grantees, and from a specially developed assessment tool that was used to obtain information about the application experience.

For the FY 2014 CTAS, a tribe or tribal consortium will submit a single application and select from nine competitive grant programs referred to as Purpose Areas. This approach allows the department’s grant-making components to consider the totality of a tribe’s overall public safety needs.


The nine purpose areas are:


1.       Public Safety and Community Policing (COPS)

2.       Comprehensive Tribal Justice Systems Strategic Planning (BJA)

3.       Justice Systems, and Alcohol and Substance Abuse (BJA)

4.       Corrections and Correctional Alternatives (BJA)

5.       Violence Against Women Tribal Governments Program (OVW)

6.       Children’s Justice Act Partnerships for Indian Communities (OVC) 

7.       Comprehensive Tribal Victim Assistance Program (OVC)

8.       Juvenile Justice (OJJDP)

9.       Tribal Youth Program (OJJDP)   

Tribes or tribal consortia are encouraged to explore other funding opportunities for which they may be eligible under non-tribal, government-specific federal grant programs. Additional funding information may be found at or the websites of individual agencies.

Today’s announcement is part of the Justice Department’s ongoing initiative to increase engagement, coordination, and action on public safety in tribal communities.



Updated September 15, 2014

Press Release Number: 13-1351