Skip to main content
Press Release

Justice Department Honors Muscogee (Creek) Nation Victim Advocate

For Immediate Release
Office of Public Affairs

Today, the Department of Justice recognized Shawn Partridge, Director of the Family Violence Prevention Program (FVPP) for the Muscogee (Creek) Nation, with the National Crime Victim Service Award. This honor is awarded to individuals or programs for exceptional service to victims of crime. She was honored during the annual National Crime Victims’ Service Awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

“Survivors in American Indian and Alaska Native communities have unique needs, and Shawn Partridge has dedicated her career to serving them,” Attorney General Sessions said. “Her innovative approach to supportive services has expanded access to specialized populations, including teens and children impacted by dating and sexual violence.  I am grateful for her passion and applaud her courage.”

FVPP provides support services to victims and survivors of domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, human trafficking and other violent crimes in the Muscogee (Creek) community. Under Partridge’s leadership, the FVPP has expanded services, including the creation of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation’s first Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner program.

Partridge’s work also includes the development of Warriors Honor Women, a movement led by Muscogee men to end violence against women and children. Her efforts promoting the reauthorization of the 2013 Violence Against Women Act helped to restore tribes’ authority to hold accountable non-American Indian/Alaskan Native individuals who commit domestic violence on tribal lands.

 “Through her dedication and compassion for victims, Ms. Partridge has made groundbreaking improvements to the assistance victims receive in the Muscogee (Creek) Nation,” said Director Darlene Hutchinson of the Office for Victims of Crime. “The Department of Justice is proud to honor her for her remarkable contributions and for her commitment to justice for all individuals victimized by crime.”

During today’s ceremony, the Justice Department recognized a dozen individuals and organizations for their outstanding efforts on behalf of victims of crime. Awardees were selected from public nominations in ten categories.

Each year in April, the Department of Justice observes National Crime Victims’ Rights Week by taking time to honor victims of crime and those who advocate on their behalf. In addition, the Justice Department and U.S. Attorney’s Offices organize events to honor the victims and advocates, as well as bring awareness to services available to victims of crime. This year’s observance takes place April 8-14, with the theme Expand the Circle: Reach All Victims.

The Department of Justice’s Office for Victims of Crime, within the Office of Justice Programs, leads communities across the country in observing National Crime Victims’ Rights Week each year. President Ronald Reagan proclaimed the first National Crime Victims’ Rights Week in 1981 to bring greater sensitivity to the needs and rights of victims of crime.

The Office of Justice Programs provides innovative leadership to federal, state, local, and tribal justice systems, by disseminating state-of-the art knowledge and practices across America, and providing grants for the implementation of these crime fighting strategies. Because most of the responsibility for crime control and prevention falls to law enforcement officers in states, cities, and neighborhoods, the federal government can be effective in these areas only to the extent that it can enter into partnerships with these officers. More information about the Office of Justice Programs and its components can be found at More information about Crime Victim’s Rights Week can be found at

Updated April 13, 2018

Press Release Number: 18 - 470