You are here

Justice News

Department of Justice
U.S. Attorney’s Office
Eastern District of Tennessee

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Madisonville Resident Sentenced to Over Twelve Years in Prison for Distributing and Possessing Child Pornography

KNOXVILLE, Tenn.- On September 19, 2017, Neal Allen Holland, 28, of Madisonville, Tennessee, was sentenced by the Honorable Thomas A. Varlan, Chief U.S. District Judge, to serve 151 months in federal prison for distributing child pornography. Following his release from prison, Holland will be supervised by the U.S. Probation Office for 15 years and required to register with the sex offender registry in any state in which he resides, works, or attends school.


Holland pleaded guilty in October 2016 to federal charges stemming from his use of an Internet chatroom and an online cloud storage account to make child pornography available for downloading by others via the Internet. A search of his residence resulted in the seizure of evidence confirming that he had been distributing child pornography that he had accessed, downloaded, and stored on his computer.


This investigation was conducted by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security with substantial assistance from the Monroe County Sheriff’s Office and Madisonville Police Department. Assistant U.S. Attorney Matthew Morris represented the United States.


This case was brought as part of Project Safe Childhood, a nationwide initiative to combat the growing epidemic of child sexual exploitation and abuse launched in May 2006 by the Department of Justice. Led by U.S. Attorneys’ Offices and the Criminal Division's Child Exploitation and Obscenity Section, Project Safe Childhood marshals federal, state and local resources to better locate, apprehend and prosecute individuals who exploit children via the Internet, as well as to identify and rescue victims. For more information about Project Safe Childhood, please visit



Project Safe Childhood
Sharry Dedman-Beard Public Information Officer 865-225-1671
Updated September 19, 2017