Skip to main content


Eastern District Of Virginia

The District of Virginia was one of the original 13 judicial districts created by the Judiciary Act of 1789.  In 1871, Virginia was divided into two districts: the Eastern and Western Districts of Virginia.

Today, the Eastern District of Virginia has offices in Alexandria, Newport News, Norfolk, and Richmond, the capital of the Commonwealth.

Map of the Eastern District of Virginia

Updated April 22, 2015