Skip to main content
Press Release

United States Attorney William D. Hyslop Announces $657,699 in Awards to Improve School Safety in the Eastern District Of Washington

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Eastern District of Washington

Spokane -- William D. Hyslop, United States Attorney for the Eastern District of Washington, announces that a total of $657,699 in school safety grant funding is being awarded to the Mattawa Police Department, East Valley School District and Consolidated School District #116 in Prosser, Washington. The funding was awarded by the Department of Justice’s Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS Office) School Violence Prevention Program (SVPP). Nationally, the COPS Office SVPP awarded nearly $50 million in school safety funding. SVPP provides up to 75% funding for school safety measures in and around primary and secondary schools and school grounds. The amounts awarded in Eastern Washington are:

Mattawa Police Department - $372,750

East Valley School District - $187,500

Consolidated School District #116 - $97,449

United States Attorney Hyslop said “Students should not fear going to school. These awards reflect the Department of Justice’s commitment to safe and secure learning environments for our students. The grant funding will assist our partners in enhancing the physical safety of our children while they are in school.”

“With the new school year underway, the safety of our nation’s students remains paramount,” said COPS Office Director Phil Keith. “Although this school year may look different at the start, now is the ideal time to make preparations to enhance school safety for when all of our children are back in the classroom.”

The Students, Teachers, and Officers Preventing School Violence Act of 2018 (STOP School Violence Act of 2018) gave the COPS Office authority to provide awards directly to states, units of local government, Indian tribes, and public agencies (such as school districts and law enforcement agencies) to improve security at schools and on school grounds in the jurisdiction of the grantee through evidence-based school safety programs. The three awards announced today can be used for coordination with law enforcement; training for local law enforcement officers to prevent student violence; metal detectors, locks, lighting, and other deterrent measures; technology for expedited notification of local law enforcement during an emergency; and other measures that provide a significant improvement in security. The full list of SVPP awards can be found here:

In addition to the school safety grants announced today, the COPS Office School Safety Working Group, which is composed of representatives from eight national law enforcement organizations, has identified 10 essential actions that can be taken by schools, school districts, and law enforcement agencies to help prevent critical incidents involving the loss of life or injuries in our nation's schools and to respond rapidly and effectively when incidents do occur. The Ten Essential Actions to Improve School Safety are applicable to school shootings as well as to other areas of school safety, including natural disasters and traumatic events such as student suicide. Adopting policies and practices based on the recommendations in this publication can help make school communities safer and save lives.


The COPS Office is the federal component of the Department of Justice responsible for advancing community policing nationwide. Since 1994, the COPS Office has invested more than $14 billion to advance community policing, including grants awarded to more than 13,000 state, local and tribal law enforcement agencies to fund the hiring and redeployment of more than 134,000 officers and provide a variety of knowledge resource products including publications, training and technical assistance.

The year 2020 marks the 150th anniversary of the Department of Justice. Learn more about the history of our agency at


Updated September 11, 2020