You are here

Anti-Terrorism Advisory Council

On September 17, 2001, in response to the horrific events of September 11, 2001, United States Attorney General John Ashcroft directed all United States Attorney's Offices to create an Anti-Terrorism Task Force. Kansas responded immediately, and numerous federal, state and local law enforcement and criminal justice agencies have regularly met together since then.

Recently renamed the Anti-Terrorism Advisory Council, it served three principal functions: First, the advisory council coordinates anti-terrorism initiatives and provides an organizational structure to respond to future terrorist incidents. Secondly, the advisory council sponsors training to neutralize suspected terrorists and terrorist supports. Finally, the advisory council facilitates information sharing between federal and local agencies on terrorism related matters.

The Anti-Terrorism Advisory Council is coordinated by the United States Attorney's Office, under the direction of the ATAC Coordinator Lanny Welch. Members of the Kansas Anti-Terrorism Advisory Council include:

Federal Agencies: Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives; Drug Enforcement Administration; Federal Bureau of Investigation; Bureau of Immigration & Customs Enforcement; U.S. Customs Service; U.S. Marshals Service; U.S. Postal Inspection Service; U.S. Secret Service; Environmental Protection Agency; Department of Defense Inspector General; U.S. Department of Agriculture; U.S. Department of Labor; U.S. Army; U.S. Air Force; Federal Bureau of Prisons; Federal Air Marshal; and Transportation Security Administration.

State Agencies and Organizations: Office of the Governor; Office of the Attorney General; Office of the Securities Commissioner; Kansas Bureau of Investigation; Kansas Highway Patrol; Kansas National Guard; Kansas Sheriffs Association; Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police; Kansas County and District Attorneys Association; and Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center.

Local Agencies: Sedgwick County District Attorney's Office; Riley County Police Department; Sedgwick County Sheriff's Office; Kearny County Sheriff's Office; Crawford County Sheriff's Office; Lane County Sheriff's Office; Dodge City Police Department; Independence Police Department; Kansas City, Kansas, Police Department; Lawrence Police Department; Leawood Police Department; Overland Park Police Department; and Topeka Police Department.

Updated December 19, 2014

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No