You are here

About the Office

The United States Attorneys serve as the nation's principal lawyers under the direction of the United States Attorney General.  There are 93 United States Attorneys stationed throughout the United States, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands.

United States Attorneys are appointed by, and serve at the discretion of, the President of the United States, with the advice and consent of the United States Senate.  Each United States Attorney is the chief federal law enforcement officer of the United States for his or her particular district.

United States Attorneys conduct most of the trial work in which the United States is a party. The United States Attorneys have three legal responsibilities:

  • the prosecution of criminal cases brought by the Federal Government;
  • the prosecution and defense of civil cases in which the United States is a party; and
  • the collection of debts owed the Federal Government which are administratively uncollectible

Each U.S. Attorney’s Office sees cases from every legal category, from Medicaid fraud to human trafficking, for example.

United States Attorneys determine the best use of their resources to further the priorities of the local communities they serve and to meet the communities' individual needs.

The following are top priorities for the District of MA:





Updated December 1, 2016