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Purpose

T0 REIMBURSE ELIGIBLE VICTIMS OF A VIOLENT CRIME WITH
UP T0 $21,000 IN FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FOR CERTAIN OUT-
0F-POCKET EXPENSES INCURRED AS R RESULT OF THE CRIME.




Funding

FEDERAL FUNDING

=40% from Federal Victims of Crime Act (VOCA)

= Has partially funded all State programs since
1986 using fees and fines collected from
federally convicted defendants.

STATE FUNDING

=60% from lllinois General Revenue Funds
= [llinois compensation program began in 1973.




Joint Program
Administration

P

ILLINOIS ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFiCE \ 4

= Investigates claims by gathering all necessary documentation
from law enforcement, vendors and the claimant.
Recommends awards or denials of claims.

ILLINOIS COURT GF CLAIMS (COC)

= Renders decisions and notifies claimants.

ILLINOIS COMPTROLLER (:-%\

= [ssues any monetary payment.




2017 RECOMMENDATIONS T0 COC




RESPONSIBILITIES UNDER THE
ACT

Law Enforcement Agencies:. Mandated
to give victims notice of the program

“Any law enforcement agency that investigates an
offense in this State shall inform the victim of the
offense or his dependents concerning the
availability of an award of compensation and
advise such persons that any information
concerning this Act and the filing of a claim may be
obtained from the Office of the Attorney General.”

(740 ILCS 45/5.1(b))
@



WRITTEN
INFORMATION

STATEMENT OF RIGHTS

= Law enforcement agency must give

victim written statement of rights within 48 hours of
initial contact.

= Statement must contain information about

compensation and how to contact the Office of the
Attorney General.

(725 ILCS 120/4(b))
P.A.97-0815 Eff.1/1/13




LAW ENFORCEMERT
TRAINING

Curriculum for certified
schools must include:

training in techniques designed to promote effective
communication at the initial contact with crime victims
& ways to comprehensively explain to victims &
witnesses their rights under the Rights of Crime Victims
and Witnesses Act & the Crime Victims Compensation
Act

(50 ILCS 7058/7)

P.A.97-0815 Eff.1/1/13 @




= Applications are issued by the Attorney General’s Office
= Call (800) 228-3368

= http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/

= Email crimevictimservices@atg.state.il.us

= Requires the signature of the victim or the parent/legal guardian of a

minor.

CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION APPLICATION

STATE OF WLINOIS STATE OF 111 INOIS
COURT OF CLAIMS: ATTORNEY GENERAL
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http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/
mailto:crimevictimservices@atg.state.il.,us

= Information Requested
» Claimant and victim contact information

= Description of the crime, including date and location
= Include a police report number if known

= Information about expenses resulting from the crime

= Send application to:

Illinois Attorney General, Crime Victims Compensation
100 W. Randolph St.

13t Floor
Chicago, IL 60601




INJURED PERSON

= Person Kkilled or injured in Illinois

= An Illinois resident injured in a country without a compensation
program

= Parent or Spouse of Injured Person

= Personal Witness to a Crime

= Witness who establishes necessary nexus °

= Person attempting to aid a victim




CHILD OR SIBLING UNDER THE AGE OF 18

« Child, stepchild, brother, sister, half brother and half sister of a person
killed or injured.

 Counseling expenses only

DECEASED PERSON WHOSE BODY IS DISMEMBERED 0R ) [
DESECRATED |

= Parent, Spouse, Child of a person whose body is desecrated

= Counseling expenses only




LEGAL GUARDIAN

= A person who is the legal guardian of a grandchild, other person, or
foster child; who is a victim




> Murder (15t and 274 Degree)

» Reckless Homicide/ Involuntary
Manslaughter

»Kidnapping (and Aggravated)

» Criminal Sexual Assault (and Aggravated)
» Criminal Sexual Abuse (and Aggravated)
»Sexual Relations with in Families

» Human Trafficking

» Exploitation of a Child

» Child Pornography

» Stalking (and Aggravated)

COMPENSABLE
CRIMES




»Reckless Conduct

» Arson (and Aggravated)

» Assault (and Aggravated)

> Battery (and Heinous/ Aggravated)
» Domestic Battery (and Aggravated)

»Abuse & Neglect (when criminally
charged)

> Hate Crime

> Violation of Protective Order
»Driving Under the Influence

> Pedestrian victims of Hit and Runs

COMPENSABLE
CRIMES




»Financial Crimes

»Non-Pedestrian Hit and Run and other Traffic Accidents

»Property Crimes (Theft, Burglary, Criminal Damage to Property)

»Loss of Currency

»Telephone Harassment and Deceptive practices

»Non-violent crimes

CRIMES NOT COVERED BY THE PROGRAM



ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

FILE APPLICATION WITHIN TWO (2) YEARS OF THE CRIME OR WITHIN
ONE (1) YEAR OF THE CRIMINAL CHARGE, WHICHEVER IS LATER

= If the victim is a minor, he/she has until 2 years after reaching 18 to file
an application.

= If the victim has a legal disability, including posttraumatic stress
disorder, he/she has 2 years after the disability is removed to file an
application.




) .
= 72 Hours "“’(ﬁ_\ =t

NOTIFY LAW ENFORCEMENT -, é
L)

= 7 Days: Victims of sexual violence report the
crime to authorities

= [f applicable to the situation:
= Obtain an Order of Protection
= Obtain a Civil No Contact Order

= Present to the hospital for sexual assault evidence
collection




COOPERATE WITH LAW ENFORCEMENT

= Victim must cooperate with law enforcement and
prosecutors.

= Offender does not need to be apprehended, charged or
found guilty in order for a victim to be eligible.

= Victim can cooperate with law enforcement by:
= Obtaining an Order of Protection
= Obtaining a Civil No Contact Order

= Presenting to the hospital for sexual assault evidence
collection




EXCEPTION:

»1If the victim is under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of
the offense, the following shall constitute cooperation:

» (1) the applicant or the victim files a police report with a law
enforcement agency;

> (2) a mandated reporter reports the crime to law enforcement; or

> (3) a person with firsthand knowledge of the crime reports the
crime to law enforcement.




ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS CONTINUED

GENERAL CONTINUANCE. ...

= Victim/claimant cannot be on probation, parole, mandatory supervised
release or incarcerated for a felony.

= Written verification of completion is required




VICTIM MUST NOT HAVE ENGAGED IN CONTRIBUTORY
MISCONDUCT

= Applicant/victim must not be the offender or an accomplice of the offender

= Victim must not have substantially provoked the incident or engaged in
contributory conduct

v lllegal narcotics activity v Mutual combat or provocation
v lllegal gang activity v Driving under the influence
v lllegal gambling v" Solicitation




REIMBURSEMENT FOR PECUNIARY LOSS

 Must be obligated to pay the billl

 Reimburse expenses only, no up-front payment or
pre-authorization for procedures




EXPENSES MUST BE RELATED TO THE CRIME

« For example, if the victim was taking diabetes
medication before the crime, this medication would
not be covered by the compensation program.




EXHAUST ALL OTHER SGURCES OF PAYMENT

PAYMENT PROVIDED DIRECTLY TO SERVICE
PROVIDERS FOR ANY OUTSTANDING BILLS @



CANNOT BILL SEXURL ASSAULT VICTIM FOR
MEDICAL FORENSIC EXAMINATION

SASETA (Sexual Assault Survivors Emergency Treatment Act)
> If covered by government program, bill program and accept as full payment
> If covered by private insurance, bill insurance and accept as full payment
» If uninsured, bill SASETA and accept as full payment




$1,500 — MAX FUNERAL EXPENSES

$1,250/M0 — MAX LOSS OF EARNINGS

$1,250/M0 — MAX LOSS OF SUPPORT

$21,000 — MAX
COMPENSATION

If the claimant’s loss
exceeds the maximum
compensation, the loss will
be prorated




COMPENSABLE EXPENSES

»Medical, Hospital and Dental Expenses
= Includes transportation expenses

»Mental Health Counseling Expenses

= Must be licensed (Psychiatrist, LCP, LCSW, LPC, LCPC,
Christian Science, not LMFT)

»Loss of Earnings

»>Relocation

= Includes temporary lodging, first months rent/security
deposit, movers/trucks, and storage




COMPENSABLE EXPENSES

»Funeral/Burial Expenses

= Includes transportation of the body and travel expenses for a survivor to
accompany the body

»Loss of Support
= Victim’s surviving dependents

»Crime Scene Clean-up




COMPENSABLE EXPENSES

»Replacement Costs
= Eyeglasses, hearing aids, prosthetic devices

= Replacing clothing/bedding taken as evidence
= Locks and windows

»Tattoo Removal (Costs associated w/Trafficking only)

» Accessibility and Usability of Property
= Wheelchairs and ramps

» Tuition




WE DO NOT PAY...

»Property Loss or Damage
= Includes any lost currency or other valuables

»Pain and Suffering

»Counseling services that are not therapy sessions or counseling
services provided by providers not listed under the Act.

= Advocacy, court appearances, forensic interviews,
= a licensed clinical psychologist,

= licensed clinical social worker,

= licensed professional counselor,

= Christian Science practitioners.” 740 ILCS 45/2(h).




SUBSEQUENT BILLS

»Claimants may submit any additional bills directly to the
Attorney General’s Office with a letter indicating their request
to have the claim re-opened.

» The bill must be related to the crime
» The claim has not reached the maximum payment amount




TIMING OF THE PROCESS

= Factors:
= Availability of a police report and other evidence

= Time it takes to gather all the necessary documents and perform verification
= From claimants, vendors, police departments, state’s attorney’s offices, etc.




Sexual Assault
= Resilience Formerly-Rape Victim Advocates

180 North Michigan Ave
Suite 600
Chicago, IL. 60601 REFERRAL
(312) 443-9603 RESOURCES

Services: Medical & Legal Advocacy, Crisis
Intervention, Trauma Therapy, Spanish Services

= YWCA-Metropolitan Chicago

6600 South Cottage Grove X S’
Chicago, IL. 60637 1_\_:.;___,.' O )
(773) 955-3100 \ ¢ 4

Services: Sexual Violence Support

= YWCA-RISE CENTER
820 W. Jackson Blvd
Suite 550
Chicago, IL. 60607

(312) 773-2102 @




Domestic Violence
= Apna Ghar

4350 N. Broadway
274 Floor
Chicago, IL. 60613
(800)717-07517
(173) 334-4663
Services: Indian/East Asian Support

= Between Friends
P.O. Box 608548
Chicago, IL. 60660
(800)603-43517

= Mujeres Latinas En Accién
2124 W. 215 Place
Suite 550
Chicago, IL. 60608
(7713)890-16176
Services: Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault

REFERRAL
RESOURCES

©




PTSD Treatment & Counseling Centers

= Hartgrove Behavioral Health System
5730 West Roosevelt Road
Chicago, IL. 60644
(1713) 825-3081

= Light On Anxiety
1300 West Belmont
Suite 501
Chicago, IL. 60657
(312) 508-3645

= Rush University Medical Center
1653 Congress Parkway
Chicago, IL. 60612
(888)352-1814

REFERRAL
RESOURCES




» Korean American Senior Center/Hanul

Family Alliance
5008 N. Kedzie Avenue
Chicago, IL. 60625
(7113) 418-8851
Services: Elder Abuse

= Hana Association
4300 N. California Ave
Chicago, IL. 60618
(173) 583-5501
Services: Chinese, Vietnamese Support

= Center on Halsted
3656 N. Halsted
Chicago, IL. 60613
(173) 472-64710
Services: Community Support/LGBTQ

REFERRAL
RESOURCES




Grief Counseling & Support Services

= Center for Grief Recovery
1263 W. Loyola Avenue
Chicago, IL. 60626

(1713) 274-4600
Services: Grief & Bereavement Counseling

= Barr Harris Children’s Grief Center
The Chicago Institute for Psychoanalysis
122 South Michigan
Suite 1300
Chicago, IL. 60603
(312) 922-7414

REFERRAL
RESOURCES
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= A ten year old Billy, tells his fourth grade teacher that his uncle,
who lives with him, has been inappropriately touching him.

= Teacher notifies DCFS & Chicago Police Department.

= A full investigation at the Chicago CAC results in the arrest of
Billy’s uncle. Billy’s mother has been uncooperative with the
prosecutor.




= Is Billy eligible for Crime Victim’s Compensation? If not, why not?
= If so, what is he eligible for?

= Yes, Billy is eligible for hospital, medical & counseling expenses.
Billy’s mother should file the application.

= Billy’s siblings (if any) could also file for counseling expenses.
Each sibling/victim must file an application.

= Is Billy’s mother eligible for Crime Victim’s Compensation? If not,
why not?
= If so, what is she eligible for?

= No, Billy’s mother is not eligible for her own expenses because
she failed to cooperate. The exception only applies to minor.

@



= Veronica & Oren were at Veronica’s apartment drinking &
watching television. The two were arguing about whether they
should watch Modern Family or Orange is the New Black when
Veronica slapped Oren.

= After being slapped, Oren backli@

)
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= Is Veronica eligible for Crime Victim’s Compensation? Why or
why not?
= If so, what is she eligible for?

= Yes, Veronica is eligible for Medical/Hospital/Counseling
expenses & Loss of Earnings.

= Although she was the initial aggressor, her injuries were not
substantially attributable to her own actions. Oren’s response was
inappropriate. Because there was such an escalation of violence,
1.e.. a slap versus the use of a knife, Veronica is still eligible as
long as she meets the rest of the requirements.




= Mike, a member of a street gang, was beaten up by several
street gang members when he attempted to terminate his
membership. As a result, he spent 1 evening in the hospital. He
did not report the incident to police because he was afraid that
if he did so, the gang members would retaliate.

o T - 1 _f4 _ 47
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= Is Mike eligible for Crime Victim’s Compensation? Why or why
not?
= If so, what is he eligible for?

= No, Mike is not eligible for compensation because he did not
comply with the statutory requirement that he report the incident
to police within 72 hours, nor has he established that his
reporting was timely under the circumstances.

= Fear of retaliation is not an exception.

= Not within the spirit of helping in the apprehension & prosecution
of the offender.

= Alternatively, if Mike had been hospitalized for longer than 72
hours or suffered from a medical condition, like PTSD, as a result
of the incident, his late reporting may have been considered
reasonable under the circumstances! @



CALL THE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S TCLL-FREE VICTIM ASSISTANCE LINE
(800) 228-3368
CRIMEVICTIMSERVICES @ ATG.STATE.IL.US

VISIT OUR WEBSITE AT
HTTP:/ /WWWILLINOISATTTORNEYGENERAL.GOV




CONTACT INFORMATION

Mary Mallo
312-814-1551 (direct line)

Prepared by:

Alexis Aranda Zelasko
Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Illinois Attorney General
1-800-228-3368 (toll free)



mailto:mmallo@atg.state.il.us
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