
Who May Be eligiBle?
•	 An	innocent	victim	who	suffers	

injury	from	a	compensable	crime	as	
identified	by	law.

•	 A	dependent	or	legal	representative	
of	an	innocent	victim	who	has	been	
killed	as	a	result	of	a	crime.

•	 A	person	who	is	injured	while	aiding	
a	crime	victim	or	helping	a	police	
officer.

•	 A	person	who	suffers	a	reaction	from	
the	death	of	a	family	or	household	
member.

•	 A	person	injured	in	a	car	accident	
caused	by	an	intoxicated	driver,	who	
was:	
-	a	pedestrian	or	a	passenger	in	the		
		other	car.	
-	a	child	passenger	in	the	offender’s			
		car.	
-	unaware	that	the	driver	was	under		
		the	influence	of	alcohol	or	an	illegal		
		drug.

legal RepResentation
•	 You	do	not	need	an	attorney	to	file	a	

claim.

What Must i do to Be eligiBle?
•	 The	victim’s	conduct	must	not	have	

caused	or	contributed	to	the	victim’s	
injury	or	death.

•	 The	victim	must	not	have	committed	
a	crime	that	led	to	the	injury	or	
death.

•	 The	crime	must	be	reported	to	law	
enforcement	within	five	days	of	the	
crime.

•	 The	victim	must	cooperate	with	
law	enforcement	officials	in	their	
investigation	and	prosecution	of	the	
crime.

•	 The	applicant	must	file	a	claim	within	
one	year	of	the	date	of	the	crime.

•	 A	victim	who	was	a	minor	at	the	time	
of	the	crime	may	file	within	one	year	
of	turning	eighteen.

•	 The	applicant	must	cooperate	with	
the	Wisconsin	Department	of	Justice	
by	supplying	requested	information	in	
a	timely	manner.

•	 If	the	victim	is	listed	on	the	statewide	
child	support	lien	docket,	certain	
requirements	must	be	met	in	order	to	
become	eligible.

What CoMpensation May Be paid?
The	State	of	Wisconsin	pays	up	to	$40,000	
for	out-of-pocket	expenses	that	are	not	
paid	or	payable	by	a	private	or	group	
insurance	plan,	public	funds,	or	any	other	
source,	including	payments	made	by	the	
offender.	Eligible	expenses	include:
•	 Medical,	hospital,	surgical,	pharmacy	

and	mental	health	counseling	
expenses.

•	 Lost	wages	for	medical	disability.
•	 Loss	of	support	to	a	dependent	of	a	

crime	victim	who	is	killed.
•	 Reasonable	replacement	costs	of	

clothing	or	bedding	held	as	evidence—
up	to	$300.

•	 Reasonable	replacement	value	
for	property	held	as	evidence	and	
rendered	unusable	by	crime	lab	
testing—up	to	$200.

•	 Reasonable	and	necessary	costs	for	
securing	and	cleaning	a	crime	scene—
up	to	$1,000.

•	 Cost	of	homemaker	services.
•	 Reasonable	funeral	expenses—up	to	

$2,000	may	be	paid.
•	 Property	loss	or	damage	is	not	

covered	other	than	those	items	
described	above.

*If	you	have	medical	coverage	through	
another	source	for	the	payment	of	your	
medical	or	mental	health	expenses,	you	must	
be	treated	by	a	provider	who	accepts	that	
source	of	payment.

WisConsin depaRtMent of JustiCe - offiCe of CRiMe ViCtiM seRViCes



WisConsin depaRtMent of JustiCe 
offiCe of CRiMe ViCtiM seRViCes
Madison
Risser	Justice	Center,	8th	Floor
17	West	Main	Street
P.O.	Box	7951
Madison,	WI	53707-7951
Victims	call	toll-free:	1-800-446-6564
Others:	608-264-9497
TTY:	800-947-3529
Fax:	608-264-6368

MilWaukee
State	Office	Building
819	North	Sixth	Street,	Room	180
Milwaukee,	WI	53203
Phone:	414-227-1804
Fax:	414-227-1842

Visit us online at:
www.doj.state.wi.us/ocvs

This	brochure	was	produced	by	the	Wisconsin	Department	
of	Justice,	Office	of	Crime	Victim	Services	under	2014-VC-
GX-0016	awarded	by	the	Office	for	Victims	of	Crime,	Office	
of	 Justice	 Programs,	 U.S.	 Department	 of	 Justice.	 	 The	
opinions,	 findings,	 and	 conclusions	 or	 recommendations	
expressed	 in	this	brochure	are	those	of	the	contributors	
and	do	not	necessarily	represent	the	official	position	nor	
policies	of	the	U.S.	Department	of	Justice.

Attorney	General	Brad	D.	Schimel
Wisconsin	Department	of	Justice
17	West	Main	Street
P.O.	Box	7951
Madison,	WI	53707-7951
608-266-1221

WisConsin depaRtMent of JustiCe 
attoRney geneRal BRad d. sChiMel

Financial Help For

ViCtiMs of CRiMe

Crime ViCtim 
Compensation program

Office Of crime Victim SerViceS

Justice isn’t served until crime 
victims Are

hoW Will My ClaiM Be pRoCessed?
•	 Once	your	application	has	been	

received,	CVC	will	request	the	law	
enforcement	investigative	report	from	
the	law	enforcement	agency.	CVC	will	
use	the	law	enforcement	report	and	
your	application	to	determine	if	your	
claim	is	eligible.	

•	 The	time	it	takes	to	determine	
eligibility	varies	considerably,	
depending	on	the	complexity	of	
the	claim.	However,	submitting	all	
requested	materials	to	the	Wisconsin	
Department	of	Justice	in	a	timely	
manner	will	help	facilitate	the	
processing	of	your	claim.	

•	 For	eligible	claims,	payments	will	
begin	as	soon	as	all	necessary	
information	has	been	submitted	and	
reviewed.	

•	 For	ineligible	claims,	a	written	denial	
decision	and	explanataion	of	the	
appeal	procedure	will	be	mailed	to	
you.	

Will i haVe to Repay the pRogRaM?
•	 Typically	victims	are	not	asked	to	

repay	the	Program.	However,	if	you	
receive	money	from	the	offender	or	
a	third	party	through	restitution	or	
any	civil	action,	you	must	re-pay	the	
state	for	any	money	paid	out	on	your	
behalf.


