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Our mission is to advocate for the 
rights and needs of crime 
victims and ensure that all crime 
victims and survivors are 
treated with dignity and 
respect.



All funds for the CVC, SAE, and CVAD office operations from fines and 
penalties paid by convicted state and federal criminals, 

not taxpayer dollars. 



THE NEED – FY 2018

$3,909,735.66
Compensation 

Paid

$2,178,537.08
Sexual Assault 

Exam Payments

3,869 CVC 
claims filed



CVAD Programs 



J ustice
is not served 

until 
crime victims are

Sexual Assault Examination 

Iowa VINE Notification 

Victim Services Support 

Identity Theft Passport 

Human Trafficking

Registrant Watch

Safe at Home 

Crime Victim Compensation 



SEXUAL ASSAULT EXAMINATION 

Per Iowa Code 915.41, SAE pays the costs of 

evidentiary examinations for victims in sexual 

assault crimes. 



SEXUAL ASSAULT EXAMINATION

• Adults and children covered

• NO requirement to report

• NO requirement to submit kit 

• Victim and insurance NEVER responsible

• CVC eligibility 



SEXUAL ASSAULT EXAMINATION

The program will pay: 

• Up to $300 for the examining room and facility 

• Up to $200 for the examiners fee (Sexual Abuse Nurse Examiner or Physician) 

• All laboratory and medication costs related to the sexual abuse exam and for 
prevention of STDs  for the crime victim 

• Follow up appointments for the crime at the same rates as the initial 
examination 



SEXUAL ASSAULT EXAMINATION – FY18

Amount Paid for Examinations $2,178,537.08

Number of Examination Claims Submitted 2,542



SEXUAL ASSAULT EXAMINATION

Program Contact

Ruth Walker
Restitution/Subrogation & SAE Coordinator
Crime Victim Assistance Division – Iowa Attorney General
Ruth.Walker@iowa.gov
515-281-5044

mailto:Ruth.Walker@iowa.gov


CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION

The philosophy of the Iowa Crime Victim Compensation 

Program is to deliver quality services by providing 

financial assistance to eligible survivors of violent crime. 

At the same time, the program wills strive to hold 

defendants financially responsible for their criminal 

behavior. 



What is a violent 
crime? 

A forcible felony, other felony or 
misdemeanor which involved the 
actual or threatened infliction of 
physical or emotional injury 



Homicide
Domestic Assault
Sexual Assault

Human Trafficking
Stalking

Harassment
Child Abuse

Assault
Robbery

Vehicular Crimes
Arson

Burglary
Others



COMPENSATION

ELIGIBILITY

1. Victim cannot have consented to, provoked, 
or incited the crime. 

2. V ictim cannot have been assisting, 
attempting, or committing a criminal act that 
directly resulted in the injuries for which the 
victim is seeking compensation. 

3. The crime must have been reported to 
appropriate law enforcement within 72 
hours of the crime or discovery of the crime.

4. The victim must cooperate with reasonable 
requests of law enforcement and prosecution. 

5. The victim must file an application for 
compensation within 2 years of the date of the 
crime. 



COMPENSATION

GOOD CAUSE EXCEPTIONS

Factors CVC may consider in determining the presence of good cause may include

age of the victim, 
physical/psychological condition of the victim, 

sexual assault examination completed, 
cultural or linguistic barriers, 

health, or safety. 



COMPENSATION
PROCESS Application

Assignment

Eligibility Review

Payment 



COMPENSATION

VICTIM CATEGORIES

Primary – person who suffers personal injury or death because of a 
crime. 
Secondary – spouse, children, parents, siblings, person residing with 
victim. 
Homicide Survivor – spouse, former spouse, child, foster child, 
parent, guardian, step-parent, sibling, foster sibling, person 
cohabitating or otherwise related by blood or affinity. 



COMPENSATION
Primary Benefits Limit
COUNSELING $5,000

MEDICAL $25,000

LOST WAGES**
Crime related injuries $6,000

Lost wages to attend criminal justice proceedings $1000/person

OTHER**
Dependent care $1,000

Crime Scene Clean-up $1,000

Replacement of clothing/bedding held as evidence $200

Transportation and Lodging $1,000

Residential security $500

Funeral/Burial $7,500

Loss of Support $4,000

Relocation $1,000 lifetime benefit 

Housing/Shelter needs *SUSPENDED FY18 $2,000 lifetime benefit *SUSPENDED FY18



COMPENSATION

Secondary Benefits Limit
COUNSELING $2,000

LOST WAGES**
Lost wages to attend primary victim appointments $1,000

Lost wages to attend criminal justice proceedings $1000/per person

OTHER**
Dependent care (if primary is dependent) $1,000

Transportation and Lodging $1,000

Residential security $500/residence

Relocation $1,000 lifetime benefit 



COMPENSATION

Homicide Survivor Benefits Limit
COUNSELING $5,000

MEDICAL $3,000

LOST WAGES**
Homicide survivor lost wages $6,000

Lost wages to attend criminal justice proceedings $1000/per person

OTHER**
Dependent care $1,000

Transportation and Lodging $1,000

Residential security $500

Relocation $1,000 lifetime benefit 



Updates from the CVC Program…

• A person victimized before January 1, 
1983 may now be eligible if CVC can 
obtain sufficient information to verify 
eligibility.

• CVC can waive cooperation for “good 
cause”

• CVC can waive collateral source 
reduction for “good cause” (i.e. 
offender is insurance policy holder). 

• Counseling is no longer required to be 
“in person” as long as counselor meets 
requirements to provide compensable 
mental health services 

• 25% reduction is now being applied to 
all wage loss payments 

• Homicide Survivor wages – ANY 
eligible survivor can be paid up to 30 
days without a disability statement. 



A few tips for helping survivors apply
• Make sure the applicant signs the release !  Without the properly signed release, CVC 

can’t talk to providers, to advocates or effectively process the claim. 

• If the crime wasn’t reported to law enforcement, it’s helpful for an advocate to either: 

1. Send in the application with the advocate statement attached; 

OR

2. Get a release from the survivor to give crime details to CVAD. 



Ex. Advocate Statements
EXAMPLE OF AN UNHELPFUL STATEMENT:

Over the last five years the victim has been abused by the offender multiple times.  He uses drugs and 
calls her derogatory names.  Recently, the offender assaulted the victim and threatened her.  The victim 
wants to get her own place but cannot afford it.

• Words like abused, assaulted, and threatened are conclusions and do not establish a criminal act 
occurred.  Being called ugly or told one makes lousy spaghetti could be considered a verbal assault by 
some; however, these are opinions and not criminal acts.  We need to know what happened that was a 
criminal act.  The statement should clarify what criminal charge could be filed if the victim contacted law 
enforcement.  Detail what the victim said which had you conclude they were assaulted.  



Ex. Advocate Statements (cont.) 

THE SAME STATEMENT MADE HELPFUL:

Jane lived with her boyfriend, John, for five years.  On 02/14/19, John accused Jane of cheating and 
smashed her cell phone onto the floor.  He called Jane a whore and pushed her into a wall which caused 
Jane to hit her head.  John threatened to kill Jane if she called law enforcement.  Jane left the home and 
has been staying with a friend.

• This narrative verifies the occurrence of a domestic assault which caused physical injury.  Information 
about the damaged cell phone allows us to consider reimbursing the cost of a replacement cell phone.  
Knowing the victim moved immediately provides a good cause reason to extend the 30-day relocation 
requirement.  Knowing the offender threatened to kill the victim corroborates a good cause reason to 
waive the requirement to report the crime to law enforcement.



Ex. Advocate Statements (cont.)

On 02/14/19, ISU student Hannah asked her ex-boyfriend to pick up some belongings.  The ex-boyfriend 
arrived and had been drinking.  He hugged Hannah from behind and rubbed her breasts with his hands.  
She told him to stop but he refused and forced his hand down her shorts and underwear.  Hannah tried to 
get away, but he overpowered her and penetrated her vagina with his penis.  For two weeks Hannah was 
too upset to work.  The offender has returned to Hannah’s home several times since the crime.  He has a 
key to Hannah’s residence and sends images of it to her.  

• This narrative verifies the occurrence of a domestic sexual assault which caused injury.  Knowing the 
offender has a key to Hannah’s house will prompt us to inform Hannah about the residential security 
benefit.  We know the offender has committed harassment and stalking after 02/14/19, which could 
provide a good cause reason to extend the 30-day emergency relocation benefit if Hannah wants to 
move.  The statement indicates Hannah lost wages, which informs us to explore wage reimbursement 
with her.  Explaining the victim’s fear and extent of her emotional trauma corroborates a good cause 
reason to waive the requirement to report the crime to law enforcement.  



Program Activity SFY18 
Applications received 3,869
Applications approved 3,369
Applications denied 500
Victims served by advocate 640
Count of restitution payments made 4,698
Count of subrogation payments received 32
Amount of restitution received $63,171
Amount of subrogation received $116,571
Compensation paid for Crime Victims $6,088,272.66



Compensation

Lizzie Martin – CVAD Advocate
Crime Victim Assistance Division Iowa Attorney General
elizabeth.martin@ag.iowa.gov
(515) 281-8354

Robert Hamill – Compensation Administrator 
Crime Victim Assistance Division Iowa Attorney General 
robert.hamill@ag.iowa.gov
515-281-5044

Program Contacts

mailto:Elizabeth.martin@ag.iowa.gov
mailto:robert.hamill@iowa.gov


Learn More

Continued opportunities for learning are available at:

www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov

And posted to:

www.facebook.com/CrimeVictimAssistanceDivision

FREE RESOURCES ARE AVAILABLE!

http://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/
http://www.facebook.com/CrimeVictimAssistanceDivision


Contact Us

Office of the Attorney General of Iowa
Crime Victim Assistance Division 

321 E. 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319
515-281-5044 OR 800-373-5044

www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov

http://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/
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