Due to the lapse in appropriations, Department of Justice websites will not be regularly updated. The Department’s essential law enforcement and national security functions will continue. Please refer to the Department of Justice’s contingency plan for more information.

You are here

Justice News

Department of Justice
U.S. Attorney’s Office
District of South Dakota

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Violence Against Women Advocacy Group Names U.S. Attorney Brendan Johnson Prosecutor Of The Year

The South Dakota Domestic Violence Coordinating Committee (SDVCC) has chosen Brendan Johnson as their Prosecutor of the Year. Brendan Johnson began his career prosecuting violence against women cases as a state prosecutor and has been the U.S. Attorney for the District of South Dakota since 2009. During this time the U.S. Attorney’s office has made human trafficking, domestic abuse and sexual violence a priority, and prosecution rates have increased.

“Brendan has demonstrated a heartfelt commitment to protecting women and holding defendants accountable,” said Brenda Hill, Native Co-Director of SD Coalition Ending Domestic & Sexual Violence, praised the selection. “He truly comprehends the entire continuum of violence against women and strongly supports our efforts to reduce domestic and sexual violence. Brendan Johnson is an excellent role model and provides remarkable leadership.”

The SDDVCC is an organization led by the South Dakota Coalition Ending Domestic & Sexual Violence and the South Dakota Network Against Family Violence and Sexual Assault. The organization includes law enforcement leaders from the state, federal, and tribal levels and is designed to protect and represent the interests of survivors of domestic and sexual assault.

Krista Heeren-Graber, Director of the SD Network Against Family Violence and Sexual Assault, also applauded the selection. “Brendan has an impressive track record in the fight against domestic violence. His grit and determination to bring these perpetrators to justice has been a turning point in the lives of several victims. Quite simply, he has given them hope,” said Heeren-Graber.

“I am extremely honored to receive this award, but want to recognize the work of my entire office and our law enforcement partners. Without them, none of this is possible,” said Johnson. “I’ve appreciated the opportunity to work with violence against women advocates and am proud of our shared accomplishments. Progress has been made, but there is more work to be done.”

Johnson is the second recipient of the committee’s award. Last year’s recipient was Michael Moore, Beadle County State’s Attorney.

Updated June 22, 2015