Skip to main content
Press Release

Attorney General Jeff Sessions Selects Southern District of California to Receive New United States Attorney Position to Combat Violent Crime

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Southern District of California

SAN DIEGO - Attorney General Jeff Sessions has selected the Southern District of California to receive additional resources for the fight against violent crime.  The district will receive an additional Assistant U.S. Attorney to focus exclusively on violent crime, one of 40 new federal prosecutors in 27 selected locations throughout the United States.


“Led by our 94 United States Attorney’s Offices, Project Safe Neighborhoods (PSN) task forces are hitting the streets across America to apprehend and bring violent criminals to justice.  I have asked Congress for additional PSN funding next year because I believe nothing will be more effective at reducing violent crime,” said Attorney General Sessions. “Under this program, I am asking a great deal of our United States Attorneys.  I am both empowering them and holding them accountable for results. To put them in the best position to impact and reduce violent crime, it is my privilege to announce that through a re-allocation of resources, we will be enlisting and deploying 40 additional violent crime prosecutors across the United States.”


“In this district, we are inundated with border-related crimes. Adding a prosecutor to our roster who will focus solely on violent crime will allow us to pursue more of the cases that harm our residents and damage our neighborhoods the most, and that will translate to safer communities,” said U.S. Attorney Adam Braverman. “We are grateful for the additional resources.”


More information on the locations of those 40 Assistant United States Attorneys and violent crime task forces is below:


AUSA Breakdown by District


Northern District of Alabama - 1
Eastern District of Arkansas - 1
Northern District of California - 2
Southern District of California - 1
District of Connecticut - 1
District of Columbia - 1
Central District of Illinois - 1
Northern District of Illinois - 3
Southern District of Indiana - 1
Eastern District of Louisiana - 1
District of Maryland - 3
Western District of Michigan - 1
Eastern District of Missouri - 2
Western District of Missouri - 1
District of Nevada - 2
District of New Mexico - 1
Eastern District of New York - 2
Western District of New York - 1
Northern District of Ohio - 2
Eastern District of Pennsylvania - 1
Middle District of Tennessee - 2
Western District of Tennessee - 2
Eastern District of Texas - 1
Northern District of Texas - 1
Southern District of Texas - 2
Western District of Texas - 1
Eastern District of Wisconsin - 2



# # #

Updated January 5, 2018

Project Safe Neighborhoods
Press Release Number: CAS18-0105-Sessions