Skip to main content
Press Release

United States Attorney commemorates Veterans Day at Fort Polk ceremony honoring Vietnam veterans

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Western District of Louisiana

SHREVEPORT/LAFAYETTE/ALEXANDRIA/LAKE CHARLES/MONROE, La.  United States Attorney David C. Joseph joined Brigadier General Patrick D. Frank, the Commanding General of the Joint Readiness Training Center and Fort Polk, at Fort Polk’s Veterans Day Ceremony on November 8, 2018.

The event was sponsored by the Joint Readiness Training Center and Fort Polk to thank and honor veterans who have served our country.  During the event, a special tribute was also held honoring veterans returning from the Vietnam War with a “Welcome Home" ceremony, where more than 125 veterans of the Vietnam War gathered in the 1st Battalion, 5th Aviation Regiment Hangar at Polk Army Airfield. 

“It is an honor to participate in the Veterans Day Ceremony at Fort Polk,” Joseph stated.  “I hope everyone takes some time this weekend to remember and thank veterans for their service.  We owe a debt of gratitude to all of the men and women who serve and have served our nation and safeguarded our freedoms.”



United States Attorney David C. Joseph also recognizes staff members of the U.S. Attorney’s Office and the U.S. District Court System of the Western District of Louisiana who have served in the U.S. Armed Forces and thanks them for their service. 

Western District of Louisiana employees being honored for their service are:

            United States Army – George Barrows (National Guard), Ken Blanchard (National Guard), Kevin Bodden, Gerald Boutte (National Guard), Chris Cantrell, Jeremy D. Cook, U.S. District Judge Dee D. Drell, George Durling, Bryan Firmin (National Guard), Andy Fontenot, Shervonne Gallow, Kyle Greenwood, Doug Herman, Charles, Hill, Charles Huggins, Valerie Joffrion (Reserves), Matthew Johnson, Billy Jordan, U.S. Attorney David C. Joseph, C. Vincent Mangum, Joseph T. Mickel, Clint Mitchell, Sean Myrick, Chris Plants, Edward Prokopf, Cyrus Smith, U.S. District Judge Tom Stagg (deceased), Fifth Circuit Chief Judge Carl E. Stewart (retired), Warren Stutts, Michael J. Touchet (National Guard), Chris Turner, U.S. District Judge Donald E. Walter, Dennis Warwick, Terrence Webb, and Garrett Wilson.

            United States Navy – Jonathan F. Hendricks, Daniel J. McCoy, Carl A. Richard, and Anthony Robert (Naval Reserve).

            United States Coast Guard - Dennis K. Austin and U.S. Magistrate Judge Patrick Hanna.

            United States Marine Corps – Jerry Alan Alkire, David Fero, Jerry Stanley Hayden, Angelo Iorio, Joshua Matte, Earl Peavy, and Abner K. Williamson.

            United Stated Air Force – Kelly Adams (Active), Michael J. Chavis, Robert Crocker, David Ellis, Samuel W. Glass Sr., Joseph Lance Lopez, John S. Odom Jr., F. Michael O’Mara, James Savoie, William Scullin, Dean Stansbury, U.S. District Judge James T. Trimble Jr., Howard White, and U.S. Marshal Henry L. Whitehorn Sr.

Updated November 9, 2018

Community Outreach