Skip to main content
Press Release

Attorney General Merrick B. Garland Honors Western District of Oklahoma Employees with Awards

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Western District of Oklahoma

OKLAHOMA CITY – Yesterday, Attorney General Merrick B. Garland announced the recipients for the 69th Annual Attorney General’s Awards, recognizing Department of Justice employees and partners for extraordinary contributions to the enforcement of our nation’s laws.  This year, Attorney General Garland specifically recognized Assistant U.S. Attorneys Emily Fagan and Ron Gallegos, and Paralegal Jessica Rogers, of the United States Attorney’s Office for the Western District of Oklahoma with the John Marshal Award.  This Award, one of the Departments highest, recognizes contributions and excellence in specialized areas of legal performance.  AUSAs Fagan and Gallegos and Paralegal Rogers received this Award for their dedicated work in obtaining a $1.25 million settlement in United States vs. Pelfrey to compensate victims of sexual harassment. 

"This year’s awardees have served selflessly to further the Department’s important work upholding the rule of law, keeping our country safe, and protecting civil rights," said Attorney General Merrick B. Garland. "I am proud to recognize these individuals for their professionalism, skill, and leadership, and I am grateful for their service to our Department and our nation."

"AUSA Ron Gallegos, AUSA Emily Fagan, and Paralegal Jessica Rogers worked closely with the Department’s Civil Rights Division to vindicate the rights of more than 40 female tenants and prospective tenants who, for nearly 20 years, endured abhorrent sexual harassment from their landlord when all they wanted was a safe place to call home," said U.S. Attorney Robert J. Troester.  "I am incredibly proud that Attorney General Merrick Garland has recognized their work with a John Marshall Award.  They are representative of every dedicated prosecutor and support staff member who serve the Western District of Oklahoma in the pursuit of justice every day."

For a full list of this year’s award recipients, please visit:

More detailed information about the Pelfrey case can be found here:

Updated July 13, 2022