ARCHIVED Skip navigation.To Contents     To Next Page     To Publications Page     To Home Page

HIDTA Overview

The Central Valley HIDTA region consists of 10 counties: Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Merced, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Shasta, Stanislaus, and Tulare. The region encompasses nearly 32,000 square miles in central California, with a population of approximately 5 million. The region includes metropolitan areas, such as Bakersfield, Fresno, Modesto, Redding, Sacramento, and Stockton, as well as expansive, sparsely populated rural areas. (See Figure 1.) The Central Valley HIDTA region is vulnerable to drug trafficking from the Southwest Border because of its proximity to that region. The region's highway infrastructure and direct access to drug sources located in Mexico and Canada enable drug traffickers to transport significant quantities of ice methamphetamine, cocaine, marijuana, heroin, and MDMA into and through the HIDTA region for local consumption and to drug markets throughout the country.

Figure 1. Central Valley California High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area

Map of the Central Valley California HIDTA area.

To Top     To Contents     To Next Page

To Publications Page     To Home Page


End of page.