U.S. Attorneys

U.S. Attorneys

Attorney General Eric Holder: The People's Lawyer
Attorney General Eric Holder: The People's Lawyer

 Monday, April 27, 2015

7-Eleven Franchisee Sentenced to 87 Months in Prison for Wire Fraud, Alien Harboring, and Identity Theft Scheme
Farrukh Baig was sentenced to 87 months in prison following his September 22, 2014, guilty plea to committing wire fraud and concealing and harboring illegal aliens employed at 7-Eleven, Inc. (7-Eleven) franchise stores located throughout Long Island and Virginia.

Justice Scale IconWednesday, April 22, 2015

Exxonmobil to Pay $5 Million to Settle U.S. and Arkansas Claims for 2013 Mayflower Oil Spill
ExxonMobil Pipeline Company and Mobil Pipe Line Company (ExxonMobil) have agreed to pay civil penalties, fund an environmental project and implement corrective measures to resolve alleged violations of the Clean Water Act and state environmental laws.

 Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Texas Doctor Sentenced to Prison for Health Care Fraud Scheme
Tariq Mahmood, 63, of Cedar Hill, Texas, was found guilty of conspiracy to commit health care fraud, seven counts of health care fraud, and seven counts of aggravated identity theft.

 Monday, April 13, 2015

Maryland Woman Sentenced for Embezzling Over $1.2 Million from Her Employer
Janice McCumbie of Marydel, Maryland has been sentenced to 37 months in prison followed by three years of supervised release for conspiring to commit wire fraud in connection with a scheme to steal over $1.2 million from a consulting company.

U.S. Attorney Spotlight

Deirdre DalyDeirdre Daly
District of Connecticut

Deirdre M. Daly became Acting United States Attorney for the District of Connecticut on May 14, 2013. She had served as First Assistant United States Attorney since July 2010.

Walt GreenWalt Green
Middle District of Louisiana

On March 13, 2014, President Obama nominated Walt Green for the position of United States Attorney for the Middle District of Louisiana. The U.S. Senate unanimously confirmed Mr. Green’s nomination on May 1, 2014, and he was sworn in on June 2, 2014.