Slide 1

U.S. Attorney announces $13 Billion JPMorgan Settlement.

Slide 4

U.S. Attorney Wagner announces indictment of illegal firearms traffickers, February 27, 2014

Slide 2

U.S. Secures $50.5 Million in Settlements for Fires in Eldorado and Mendocino National Forests.

Slide 4

U.S. Attorney Wagner being recognized by Attorney General Holder at Wagner's final meeting as a member of the Attorney General's Advisory Committee.

Slide 2

Representatives of federal, state and local law enforcement agencies from the Eastern District of California attend a symposium on aircraft laser strikes, coordinated by the Fresno Office of the U.S. Attorney on March 25, 2014


The United States Attorney's Office for the Eastern District of California represents the federal government in virtually all litigation involving the United States in the Eastern District of California. This includes all criminal prosecutions for violations of federal law, civil lawsuits by and against the government, and actions to collect judgments and restitution on behalf of victims and taxpayers. The Eastern District of California is one of the largest judicial districts in the country, both in terms of population and land mass. It has almost eight million residents and encompasses six large urban areas: Sacramento, Fresno, Bakersfield, Stockton,Vallejo, and Fairfield. It extends over 87,000 square miles, 45% of which is federal land and includes 34 counties reaching from the Oregon border in the north down to Bakersfield in the south, and from the coastal mountains in the west, to the Nevada border in the east. (Click here for the CaliforniaCounty map of the Eastern District.) The attorneys and staff of the U.S. Attorney's Office for the Eastern District of California are proud to represent residents of this large and culturally diverse district. It is the mission and the pledge of this office to represent the United States with determination, professionalism, and integrity.


July 2014
Issue No. 52

The U.S. Attorney's Report to the District

Fifty years ago this month, President Johnson signed the Civil Rights Act of 1964, banning racial, religious and gender discrimination in employment and public facilities, ending Jim Crow laws, and establishing the legal basis for decades of federal civil rights enforcement.  It also established the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and the U.S. Department of Justice’s Community Relations Service.  The Civil Rights Act not only laid the groundwork for other critical civil rights laws, including the Voting Rights Act of 1965, the Fair Housing Act of 1968, and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, it also helped shape the mission of the U.S. Department of Justice.

The Department’s Civil Rights Division has long been the center of federal expertise when it comes to civil rights enforcement, but United States Attorneys play a pivotal role.  We help shape the Department’s overall civil rights enforcement priorities through the Civil Rights Subcommittee of the Attorney General’s Advisory Committee, on which I serve.  But we also bring enforcement actions in our own districts, often in conjunction with the Civil Rights Division.   

Click here to read the entire report TO THE DISTRICT