The District

The Eastern District of Louisiana consists of the following thirteen (13) parishes located in South Louisiana: Assumption, Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. John, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne and Washington.

Approximately 1,589,730 persons reside in the District, based upon data compiled by the State of Louisiana in 2010. The major metropolitan area in the District is the City of New Orleans (Orleans Parish), with a population of approximately 343,829. Orleans and Jefferson Parishes are by far the two largest urban areas in the Eastern District of Louisiana. As such, the majority of the Office's workload comes from these two parishes.

The New Orleans International Airport is located in Jefferson Parish, bringing the U. S. border into the District. Also, Interstate 10 traverses the District. International trade arrives in the District through the mouth of the Mississippi River at the Port of New Orleans and other ports along the river.

 Map of the Eastern District of Louisiana

Return to Top

USAO Homepage
USAO Briefing Room
Disaster Fraud Hotline

If you believe you have been a victim of fraud from a person or an organization soliciting relief funds on behalf of storm victims or have knowledge of waste, abuse, or allegations of mismanagement involving disaster relief operations, contact the National Center for Disaster Fraud toll free at: (866) 720-5721. You can also fax information to: (225) 334-4707 or e-mail it to: disaster@leo.gov

Project Safe Childhood

Help us combat the proliferation of sexual exploitation crimes against children.

Stay Connected: Visit us on Twitter

Stay Connected: Visit us on Twitter

Justice 101