United States Attorneys have three statutory responsibilities under Title 28, Section 507 of the United States Code:

  • The prosecution of criminal cases brought by the Federal government;

  • The prosecution and defense of civil cases in which the United States is a party; and

  • The collection of debts owed the Federal government which are administratively uncollectible.

To meet these responsibilities, the United States Attorney's Office is organized into three major divisions: the Criminal Division, the Civil Division, and the Administrative Division.

This page and its links are intended to provide you with a comprehensive overview of the different divisions within the U.S. Attorney's Office and the role each component plays in ensuring justice in the district.

Return to Top

USAO Homepage
USAO Briefing Room
Justice 101
Project Safe Childhood

Help us combat the proliferation of sexual exploitation crimes against children.

Project Safe Neighborhoo ds

Our nation-wide commitment to reducing gun crime in America.

Victim Witness Assistance

Making sure that victims of crimes are treated with compassion, fairness and respect.

Stay Connected: Visit us on Twitter