About the District

the United States Attorney's Office - Western District of Michigan

The Western District of Michigan is unique not only because it is one of the nation's longest federal law enforcement districts, but also because it is broken into two peninsulas. Altogether, the Western District extends more than 700 miles from the southern extremity to the northwest border. To be exact, the Western District of Michigan covers 35,229 square miles and encompasses forty-nine counties, thirty-four of them in the lower peninsula.

The Western District is diversely populated and split into two divisions. The Southern Division is the western half of the lower peninsula and comprises thirty-four counties. There are three U.S. Attorney's Offices in the lower peninsula, Grand Rapids and Lansing (staffed offices) and Kalamazoo (un-staffed office). The northern Division is in the upper peninsula, and has a staffed office in Marquette. See the list of counties below that are in the Western District of Michigan.

The northern part of the district and upper peninsula has a number of Native American reservations that are also under the auspices of the U.S. Attorney. The southern areas are more intensely populated and centralized in Grand Rapids, which is the 52nd largest metropolitan area in the country. The Western District also includes the state capitol, Lansing.

Northern Division:

Alger, Baraga, Chippewa, Delta, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, Luce, Mackinac, Marquette, Menominee, Ontonagon, Schoolcraft

Southern Division:

Allegan, Antrim, Barry, Benzie, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Charlevoix, Clinton, Eaton, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Hillsdale, Ingham, Ionia, Kalamazoo, Kalkaska, Kent, Lake, Leelanau, Manistee, Mason, Mecosta,  Missaukee,   Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, Ottawa, St. Joseph, Van Buren, Wexford

The state of Michigan has two penninsulas; the upper penninsula and the lower penninsula. These two penninsulas are separated by the Straits of Mackinac and until 1957 there was no way of going directly from one penninsula to the other. On May 7 - 8, 1954 construction began on the Mackinac Bridge and the bridge opened to traffic on November 1, 1957.

The Mackinac Bridge is the longest suspension bridge in the western hemisphere and the third longest suspension bridge in the world. The total length of the Mackinac Bridge is 26,372 feet, or about 5 miles in length. If you would like more information on the Mackinac Bridge, view the Mackinac Bridge Authority's web site at: http://www.mackinacbridge.org/

Map of Western District of Michigan Grand Rapids District Headquarter, Kent County Lansing Branch Office, Ingham County Marquette Branch Office, Marquette County Kalamazoo Office, Kalamazoo County Hillsdale County Branch County St. Joseph County Cass County Berrien County Calhoun County Kalamazoo Office, Kalamazoo County Van Buren County Lansing Branch Office, Ingham County Eaton County Barry County Allegan County Ottawa County Ionia County Clinton County Grand Rapids District Headquarter, Kent County Montecalm County Muskegon  County Mecosta County Newago County Oceana County Osceola County Lake County Mason  County Missaukee County Wexford County Manistee County Emmet County Antrim County Charlevoix County Leelanau County Grand Traverse County Kalkaska County Schoolcraft County Baraga Delta County Luce County Menominee County Keweenaw County Mackinac County Alger County Dickinson County Chippewa County Marquette Branch Office, Marquette County Benzie County Ontonagon County Houghton County Gogebic County Iron County


Return to Top

Victim Witness Assistance

Making sure that victims of federal crimes are treated with compassion, fairness and respect.

Smart On Crime


Project Safe Neighborhoods

Our nation-wide commitment to reducing gun crime in America.

Project Safe Childhood

Help us combat the proliferation of sexual exploitation crimes against children.

Community Outreach

Giving Back to the Community through a variety of venues & initatives.