Disaster Fraud Task Force (DFTF)

Disaster Fraud Task Force (DFTF)

About the Task Force

Disaster Fraud Task Force Banner Image

Welcome to the Disaster Fraud Task Force homepage. On September 8, 2005, the Disaster Fraud Task Force was established to deter, detect, and prosecute instances of fraud related to the Hurricane Katrina disaster. As multiple disasters occurred in subsequent years, the Task Force expanded its mandate to all types of disaster fraud.
Read more

The Task Force will combat all types of fraud relating to disasters and their aftermath, with an emphasis on charity fraud, emergency-benefit fraud, identity theft, insurance fraud, and procurement fraud.

The Task Force includes the Criminal Division, United States Attorneys' Offices, the FBI, the Postal Inspection Service, the U.S. Secret Service, the Federal Trade Commission, the Securities and Exchange Commission, federal Inspectors General, and various representatives of state and local law enforcement. The Task Force is coordinating on the federal, state, and local levels with law enforcement and with other entities involved in the relief and reconstruction effort.

This website will allow you to find current information on the work and progress of the Task Force.


Kenneth A. Blanco
Acting Assistant Attorney General


Office of the Assistant Attorney General
(202) 514-2000