Due to the lapse in appropriations, Department of Justice websites will not be regularly updated. The Department’s essential law enforcement and national security functions will continue. Please refer to the Department of Justice’s contingency plan for more information.

You are here

Justice News

Department of Justice
U.S. Attorney’s Office
Southern District of Illinois

Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Union County Resident Sentenced For Methamphetamine Offense

On February 13, 2015, Jonathan E. Merydith, 27, of Cobden, IL, was sentenced for a methamphetamine violation, the United States Attorney for the Southern District of Illinois, Stephen R. Wigginton, announced today.

Merydith, who had previously pled guilty to a one-count indictment charging conspiracy to manufacture methamphetamine, was sentenced to 60 months in federal prison, to be followed by 3 years supervised release, and fined $200.00. The offense occurred between 2012 and March 2014, in Union, Williamson, and Jackson Counties. Evidence at the plea and sentencing hearings established that Merydith was involved with co-defendant Rusty Smith and others in the manufacture of methamphetamine. At sentencing, the district court determined that Merydith was responsible for the possession of more than 74 grams of pseudoephedrine. Co-defendant Ruth Diane Wiseman was previously sentenced to 18 months in prison for her role in the methamphetamine conspiracy. Co-defendants Rusty Smith and Shannon Connett have pled guilty and are awaiting sentencing.

The ongoing investigation is being conducted by the Union County Sheriff’s Office, Jackson County Sheriff’s Office, Illinois State Police, Williamson County Sheriff’s Office, Marion Police Department, Carbondale Police Department, Illinois State Police Methamphetamine Response Team and Drug Enforcement Administration. The 19th Judicial District Drug Task Force (Tennessee) assisted in the investigation.

The case is assigned to Assistant United States Attorney Amanda A. Robertson for prosecution.

Updated February 19, 2015