Skip to main content
Press Release

Kenneth L. Parker sworn in as U.S. Attorney

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Southern District of Ohio

CINCINNATI – Kenneth L. Parker was sworn in today as United States Attorney, the chief law enforcement official, for the Southern District of Ohio. President Biden nominated Parker on Sept. 28, and the United States Senate approved his confirmation on Nov. 19.


Parker is a lifelong resident of the Cincinnati region and has served as an Assistant United States Attorney there since 1999. The 49-year-old has served in a variety of leadership roles as a federal prosecutor in the Office’s criminal division, including as Criminal Chief (2011 to 2019) and as the District’s OCDETF Chief (2010-2011).


Parker graduated from Tuskegee University in 1994 and earned his law degree from Indiana University in 1997. He clerked for the Hon. S. Arthur Spiegel in the United States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio.


He has served as president of the Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky Chapter of the Federal Bar Association and of the Black Lawyers Association of Cincinnati.


Throughout his career, Parker has been consistently dedicated to connecting with the community to promote crime prevention as an essential part of enforcement.


“As U.S. Attorney, I am committed to partnering with the community to strengthen relationships between our office, the law enforcement partners with whom we work, and government and non-government agencies,” said Parker. “In other words, building community trust will be an integral part of what we do.”


As an alumnus of the Summer Work Experience in Law program, Parker later served as Chair of the program, which seeks to increase the number of African Americans in the legal profession. He has helped expand the program to Hamilton, Dayton and Columbus.


The new U.S. Attorney resides in Cincinnati with his wife and their twin daughters.


The U.S. Attorney’s Office represents the United States in 48 of Ohio’s 88 counties. The Southern District of Ohio includes the metropolitan areas of Columbus, Cincinnati and Dayton.



# # #

Updated November 23, 2021

Office and Personnel Updates