National Commission on Forensic Science

National Commission on Forensic Science


In 2013, the Department of Justice (DOJ) established the National Commission on Forensic Science, in partnership with the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), to enhance the practice and improve the reliability of forensic science. This unique partnership draws upon each agency's core strengths to promote scientific validity, reduce fragmentation, and improve federal coordination of forensic science.

The Commission is co-chaired by the Deputy Attorney General and the NIST Director and Under Secretary of Commerce for Standards & Technology. Nelson Santos, Deputy Assistant Administrator for the Office of Forensic Sciences at the Drug Enforcement Administration, and Dr. John M. Butler, Special Assistant to the NIST Director for forensic science, serve as vice-chairs. Dr. Jonathan McGrath, Senior Policy Analyst for the Department’s National Institute of Justice, serves as the Designated Federal Officer (DFO). Lindsay DePalma serves as NCFS Program Manager.

The Commission includes federal, state and local forensic science service providers; research scientists and academics; law enforcement officials; prosecutors, defense attorneys and judges; and other stakeholders from across the country.

NCFS Term 1 & 2 Commission Business Document

NCFS Adopted Commission Work Products