Skip to main content

Criminal Division

The Criminal Division, which is responsible for enforcing federal criminal laws, comprises three program-based units:  Major Crimes and National Security, Violent Crimes and Narcotics, and Financial Fraud and Public Corruption. Marc H. Silverman is the Chief of the Criminal Division.

The Major Crimes and National Security Unit

The Major Crimes and National Security Unit is responsible for prosecuting matters including international and domestic terrorism, customs enforcement, identity theft, cybercrimes, immigration, human trafficking, child exploitation, civil rights, hate crimes, government program fraud, and environmental crimes.  Nancy V. Gifford is the Chief of the Unit, Angel M. Krull is the Deputy Chief for Major Crimes, and Neeraj N. Patel is the Deputy Chief for National Security.

The Violent Crimes and Narcotics Unit

The Violent Crimes and Narcotics Unit includes the District’s Organized Crime and Drug Enforcement Task Force (OCDETF), Project Safe Neighborhoods (PSN) prosecutions, and violent crime, gangs and narcotics investigations.  Jocelyn Courtney Kaoutzanis is the Chief of the Unit, John T. Pierpont, Jr. is the Deputy Chief, and Geoffrey M. Stone serves as Chief of OCDETF, which targets major drug trafficking operations responsible for the distribution of large quantities of narcotics by violent drug organizations.  AUSA Pierpont also serves as PSN Coordinator, overseeing firearms prosecutions that seek to deter the illegal possession of guns and reduce gun and gang violence.

The Financial Fraud and Public Corruption Unit

The Financial Fraud and Public Corruption Unit includes securities and investor fraud, public corruption, bank fraud and embezzlement, mortgage fraud, tax fraud, health care fraud, bankruptcy fraud and Foreign Corrupt Practices Act violations.  David E. Novick is the Chief of the Unit and Christopher W. Schmeisser is the Deputy Chief.

Updated September 25, 2023