You are here

Justice News

Department of Justice
U.S. Attorney’s Office
District of Connecticut

Friday, October 10, 2014

U.S. Attorney Names First Assistant, Criminal Division Appointments

Deirdre M. Daly, United States Attorney for the District of Connecticut, today announced several leadership and supervisory appointments within the U.S. Attorney’s Office.

Michael J. Gustafson has been named First Assistant U.S. Attorney.  Mr. Gustafson has been with the U.S. Attorney’s Office since 1997.  For the last four years, he served as Chief of the Criminal Division, and previously as Supervisor of the District’s Hartford Office and Chief of the Organized Crime Strike Force.  Prior to joining the Department of Justice, Mr. Gustafson was in private practice for eight years, and served as a law clerk to both Senior U.S. District Judge T. Emmet Clarie and U.S. Magistrate Judge F. Owen Eagan.  Mr. Gustafson is a 1983 graduate of Amherst College and a 1986 graduate of the University of Connecticut School of Law.

“In his long tenure in the Office, Mike has distinguished himself as someone with excellent judgment and outstanding character,” stated U.S. Attorney Daly.   “A terrific prosecutor and enormously dedicated public servant, Mike is an invaluable asset to me and everyone who works here. Never seeking credit or recognition, Mike works tirelessly to help others while also prosecuting some of our most important and challenging cases.  In his new role, we will have the benefit of his advice and counsel on all significant matters within the Office.” 

William J. Nardini has been named Chief of the Criminal Division.  Mr. Nardini joined the U.S. Attorney’s Office in 2000, and previously served as Chief of Appeals.  He recently completed a four-year assignment as the Department of Justice Attaché at the U.S. Embassy in Rome where he coordinated requests for extradition and mutual legal assistance in criminal matters between American and Italian legal authorities.  Prior to joining the U.S. Attorney’s Office, Mr. Nardini served as a law clerk for Justice Sandra Day O’Connor of the U.S. Supreme Court as well as Judges José Cabranes and Guido Calabresi of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit. Mr. Nardini is a 1990 graduate of Georgetown University and a 1994 graduate of Yale Law School.  He also received an LL.M from the European University Institute in 1999 as a Fulbright Scholar.

“We are excited and very fortunate to have Bill returning to the Office after his distinguished service as the Justice Department’s Attaché in Italy,” stated U.S. Attorney Daly.  “Bill’s legal acumen, wise counsel and management skills make him a great fit for the critically important position of Criminal Chief.  We are confident that he will provide valuable guidance to our talented AUSAs.”

The Criminal Division, which is responsible for enforcing federal criminal laws, comprises three program-based units:  National Security and Major Crimes, Violent Crimes and Narcotics, and Financial Fraud and Public Corruption.

The National Security and Major Crimes Unit is responsible for prosecuting matters involving international and domestic terrorism, civil rights and hate crimes, human trafficking and child exploitation, cybercrime and identity theft,  organized crime, immigration and customs enforcement, government program and defense contractor fraud, and environmental crimes.  Raymond F. Miller is the Chief of the Unit.  Stephen B. Reynolds and Krishna R. Patel are the Deputy Chiefs.  AUSA Reynolds also supervises the Office’s national security work and coordinates the District’s Anti-Terrorism Advisory Committee (ATAC).

The Violent Crimes and Narcotics Unit includes the District’s Organized Crime and Drug Enforcement Task Force (OCDETF), Project Safe Neighborhoods (PSN) prosecutions, and violent crime, gangs and narcotics investigations.  S. Dave Vatti is the Chief of the Unit, and AUSAs Robert M. Spector and Brian P. Leaming are the Deputy Chiefs.  AUSA Spector is the District’s OCDETF Coordinator, which targets major drug trafficking operations responsible for the distribution of large quantities of narcotics by violent drug organizations, and AUSA Leaming serves as PSN Coordinator, overseeing firearms prosecutions that seek to deter the illegal possession of guns and reduce gun and gang violence.

The Financial Fraud and Public Corruption Unit includes securities, commodities  and investor fraud, public corruption, bank fraud and embezzlement, mortgage fraud, tax fraud, health care fraud, bankruptcy fraud and Foreign Corrupt Practices Act violations.  Christopher M. Mattei is the newly appointed Chief of the Unit, and Michael S. McGarry and David E. Novick are the Deputy Chiefs.  This Unit includes the Connecticut Securities Fraud Task Force.

In addition, The District of Connecticut’s Appellate Unit is led by Sandra S. Glover, who serves as Chief of Appeals, and Marc H. Silverman, who serves as Deputy Chief.

John H. Durham continues to serve as Counsel to the United States Attorney, John B. Hughes remains the longstanding Chief of the Civil Division and Peter S. Jongbloed continues as the Executive United States Attorney.

“This supervisory team is a talented and experienced group of public servants who are driven by the cause of justice,” stated U.S. Attorney Daly.  “Their dedicated efforts make Connecticut a safer and more secure place to live.  I am fortunate and proud to be working by their side.”

The U.S. Attorney’s Office is charged with enforcing federal criminal laws in Connecticut, and with representing the federal government in civil litigation in the District.  The District is composed of approximately 64 Assistant U.S. Attorneys and approximately 60 staff members at offices in New Haven, Hartford and Bridgeport.


Tom Carson
(203) 821-3722

Updated March 18, 2015