Skip to main content

About The District

Judicial Resources

The District Court judicial resources for the Eastern District are:

  • Two Active Federal District Court Judges
  • Two Senior Status Federal District Court Judge
  • Two full-time and one part-time United States Magistrate Judges Two Bankruptcy Judges
  • The District Court cases are appealed to the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals.


The 44 easternmost counties comprise the Eastern District of North Carolina. Those counties are:

Beaufort Dare Johnston Perquimans
Bertie Duplin Jones Pitt
Bladen EdgeCombe Lenoir Robeson
Brunswick Franklin Martin Sampson
Camden Gates Nash Tyrrell
Carteret Granville New Hanover Vance
Chowan Greene Northampton Wake
Columbus Halifax Onslow Warren
Craven Harnett Pamlico Washington
Cumberland Hertford Pasquotank Wayne
Currituck Hyde Pender Wilson

The Court system has further divided the District into the following four divisions:

  • Western Division headquartered in Raleigh
  • Northern Division headquartered in Elizabeth City
  • Eastern Division headquartered in Greenville
  • Southern Division headquartered in Wilmington

Updated July 15, 2015