Skip to main content
Press Release

Over 40,700 South Carolina Students to Participate in State’s 21st Annual National Day of Concern & Student Pledge Against Gun Violence

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, District of South Carolina

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA —United States Attorney Adair F. Boroughs, stated that today, October 19, 2022, the United States Attorney’s Office (USAO), along with their local, state, and federal law enforcement partners, will support schools across the state as they participate in South Carolina’s 21st Annual Student Pledge Against Gun Violence. 

With a focus on keeping our schools and communities safe, students in middle school and high school are signing a voluntary pledge promising that they will never take a gun to school, will never resolve a dispute with a gun, and will use their influence to prevent friends from using guns to resolve disputes.  Elementary school children are making a similar commitment—pledging that if they see a gun they will not touch it, they will tell a teacher or a trusted adult, and they will assume that any gun they see might be loaded.                         

The Student Pledge Against Gun Violence is a national program that recognizes the role young people, through their own decisions, can play in reducing gun violence. The program provides a means for beginning the conversation with young people about gun violence and encourages important conversations about gun safety and respectful ways to resolve disputes. Students from around the country will join together in pledging to do their part. For additional information concerning the pledge, visit the national Student Pledge website at

As it has done since 2002, the USAO reached out to all South Carolina law enforcement agencies and schools to make the pledges available to interested schools. The pledge effort is part of Project Safe Neighborhoods (PSN), a national program that has been historically successful in bringing together law enforcement agencies and the communities they serve to reduce violent crime and make our neighborhoods safer for everyone.

The following South Carolina schools and law enforcement agencies are participating in this year’s pledge.  For information on events scheduled for a particular school, please contact the respective school or local law enforcement agency.

Participating Law Enforcement Agencies

Abbeville County Sheriff’s Office

Anderson County Sheriff’s Office

Berkeley County Sheriff’s Office

Cayce Police Department

Charleston Police Department

Chester County Sheriff’s Office

Columbia Police Department

Darlington County Sheriff’s Office

Easley Police Department

Fairfield County Sheriff’s Office

Florence County Sheriff’s Office

Hanahan Police Department

Kershaw County Sheriff’s Office

Lexington County Sheriff’s Office

Marion County Sheriff’s Office

Marlboro County Sheriff’s Office

Myrtle Beach Police Department

North Charleston Police Department

Orangeburg County Sheriff’s Office

Richland County Sheriff’s Office

Rock Hill Police Department

Tega Cay Police Department

Williamsburg County Sheriff’s Office

Williamston Police Department

York County Sheriff’s Office


Participating Schools

Airport High School

Alcorn Middle School

Bethel-Hanberry Elementary School

Blythewood Middle School

Bookman Road Elementary School

Brockington Elementary Magnet School

Brookdale Elementary School

Brookland-Cayce High School

Busbee Creative Arts Academy

C.A. Johnson High School

Calhoun County High School

Carver Elementary Magnet School

Catawba Trail Elementary School

Center for Inquiry

Center For Knowledge

Center for Knowledge North

Chester High School

Chicora Elementary School

Clover High School

Cyril B. Busbee Creative Arts Academy

Darlington County Institute of Technology

Denmark-Olar Elementary School

Dreher High School

Dutchman Creek Middle School

E. L. Wright Middle School

Eau Claire High School

Edisto Elementary School

Elloree Elementary/Middle School

Fairfield Magnet School for Math and Science

Forest Lake Elementary NASA Explorer School

Gold Hill Middle School

Greeleyville Primary School

H.B. Rhame Elementary School

Hand Middle School

Hannah Middle School

Hemingway M.B. Lee Middle School

Heyward Gibbes Middle School

Jackson Creek Elementary School

Joseph Keels Elementary School

Killian Elementary S.T.E.A.M. Leaders Magnet School

Lady’s Island Elementary School

Lake Carolina Elementary Upper School

Lake Carolina Lower Elementary School

Langford Elementary School

Leslie M. Stover Middle School

Logan Elementary School

Long Cane Primary School

Lonnie B. Nelson Elementary School

Lowcountry Acceleration Academy

Malcolm C. Hursey Montessori School

McColl Elementary Middle School

McCormick Elementary School

McCrorey School of Technology

McKissick Academy of Science and Technology

MED at Bridge Creek Elementary School

MSAP Donaldson

Muller Road Middle School

Myrtle Beach Middle School

New Bridge Academy

Newberry High School

North Springs Elementary School

Northside Middle School

Palmetto High School

Pendergrass-Fairwold High School

Pineridge Middle School

Polo Road Elementary

Pontiac Elementary School

R.H. Fulmer Middle School

Rivelon Elementary School

Sanders Clyde Creative Arts Elementary School

Sangaree Middle School

Spring Valley High School

St. Stephen Elementary School

Summit Parkway Middle School

Virtus Academy of South Carolina

W.A. Perry Middle School

Wallace-Gregg Elementary School

Westwood High School

Whittaker Elementary School

Wren Middle School



Derek A. Shoemake (843) 813-0982

Updated October 19, 2022

Project Safe Neighborhoods
Community Outreach