You are here

Justice News

Department of Justice
U.S. Attorney’s Office
Southern District of Illinois

Monday, January 30, 2017

Mexican National Sentenced to 51-Months in Federal Prison for Drug Conspiracy Involving Over Ten Kilograms of Methamphetamine


Donald S. Boyce, United States Attorney for the Southern District of Illinois, announced that Pablo Orlando Rivera-Pachecho, a 37-year old Mexican national, was sentenced by United States Chief District Judge Michael J. Reagan to 51 months in federal prison for one count of conspiring to distribute and possess with the intent to distribute methamphetamine, three years of supervised release to follow the imprisonment, a $300 fine, and a $100 special assessment fee.

Facts revealed at the sentencing and plea hearings that on one occasion, Rivera served as a courier for a drug organization in Mexico. On that occasion, Rivera received over ten kilograms of methamphetamine. At sentencing, Chief Judge Reagan commented that the offense involved "lots of methamphetamine," which is "horrible" and "ruins families." In sentencing Rivera to 51- months of imprisonment, 3 years of supervised release, a $300 fine and a $100 special assessment fee, Chief Judge Reagan indicated that this sentence punishes Rivera, reflects the seriousness of the offense, and promotes respect for the law.

Evidence in support of this prosecution was obtained in an investigation conducted under the auspices of the Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Force (OCDETF). The OCDETF initiative is designed to bring federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies and resources together to identify, target and dismantle large national and international drug trafficking

organizations. Agencies participating in this case include the Drug Enforcement Administration, the Internal Revenue Service, Criminal Investigations, the Illinois State Police, and Fontana, California Police Department. This case was prosecuted by Assistant United States Attorney Monica A. Stump.


Drug Trafficking
Updated January 30, 2017