This is archived content from the U.S. Department of Justice website. The information here may be outdated and links may no longer function. Please contact if you have any questions about the archive site.

You are here

Former U.S. Attorney Marc Krickbaum

United States Attorney - Marc Krickbaum

Marc Krickbaum

Former United States Attorney

Marc Krickbaum is the United States Attorney for the Southern District of Iowa. From 2009 to 2017, he served as an Assistant United States Attorney in Des Moines, Iowa, and Chicago, Illinois. Before that, he was Counsel to the Deputy Attorney General at the United States Department of Justice. Marc has investigated and prosecuted cases involving public corruption, financial crime, national security, human trafficking, child exploitation, violent crime,  drug trafficking, and immigration offenses. He has also worked on Department of Justice initiatives relating to counterterrorism, cybercrime, international organized crime, and professional ethics and responsibility.


Marc graduated from the University of Iowa and Harvard Law School. After law school, he clerked for the Honorable Steven M. Colloton of the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, and the Honorable Mark Filip of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois.


(This page is no longer updated)

United States Attorney Listing for the Southern District of Iowa
Territory of Iowa (6/12/1838)
Cyrus S. Jacobs 1838
Isaac Van Allen 1838-1840
Charles Weston 1840-1843
John G. Deshler 1843-1845
Southern District of Iowa (12/28/1846)
Edward Johnston 1845-1847
Isaac M. Preston 1847-1850
Stephen Whicher 1850-1852
Joseph C. Knapp 1852-1860
W.H.F. Gurley 1860-1863
Robert H. Gilmore 1863-1865
Caleb Baldwin 1865-1867
Milton D. Browning 1867-1869
William Fletcher Sapp 1869-1873
James T. Lane 1873-1882
Dewitt C. Cram 1883-1883
John S. Runnels 1882-1885
Daniel O. Finch 1885-1889
Lewis Miles 1889-1893
Charles D. Fullen 1893-1898
Lewis Miller 1898-1907
Marcellus L. Temple 1907-1914
Claude R. Porter 1914-1918
Edwin G. Moon 1918-1922
Ralph Pringle 1922-1924
Edwin G. Moon 1924
Ross R. Mowry 1924-1932
Robert W. Colflesh 1932-1934
Edwin G. Moon 1934-1939
Cloid I. Level 1939
John K. Valentine 1939-1940
Hugh B. McCoy 1940
Maurice F. Donegan 1940-1949
William R. Hart 1949-1953
Roy L. Stephenson 1953-1960
Roy W. Meadows 1960-1961
Donald A. Wine 1961-1965
Philip T. Riley 1965
Donald M. Statton 1965-1967
Jerry E. Williams 1967
James P. Rielly 1967-1969
Allen L. Donielson 1969-1976
George H. Perry 1976-1977
Paul A. Zoss, Jr 1977
James R. Rosenbaum 1977
Roxanne Barton Conlin 1977-1981
Kermit B. Anderson 1981
Richard C. Turner 1981-1986
Christopher D. Hagen 1986-1989
Gene W. Shepard 1989-1993
Christopher D. Hagen 1993
Don C. Nickerson 1993-2001
Inga Bumbary-Langston 2001
Steven M. Colloton 2001-2003
Stephen Patrick O'Meara 2003-2004
Matthew G. Whitaker 2004-2009
Nicholas A. Klinefeldt 2009-2015
Kevin E. VanderSchel 2015 to 2017
Marc Krickbaum 2017 to 2021
Updated January 7, 2021