“The September 11th Victim Compensation Fund” has launched a new website; for more information about the Fund, please go to:

About the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund

The September 11th Victim Compensation Fund ("VCF") was created to provide compensation for any individual (or a personal representative of a deceased individual) who suffered physical harm or was killed as a result of the terrorist-related aircraft crashes of September 11, 2001 or the debris removal efforts that took place in the immediate aftermath of those crashes. The original VCF operated from 2001-2004.

On January 2, 2011, President Obama signed into law the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act of 2010 (Zadroga Act). Title II of the Zadroga Act reactivated the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund. The reactivated VCF opened in October 2011 and was authorized to operate for a period of five years, ending in October 2016.

On December 18, 2015, President Obama signed into law a bill reauthorizing the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act of 2010. This included the reauthorization of the VCF. The new law extended the VCF for five years, allowing individuals to submit their claims until December 18, 2020. The law also included some important changes to the VCF’s policies and procedures for evaluating claims and calculating each claimant’s loss. 

On July 29, 2019, President Trump signed into law H.R. 1327, The Never Forget the Heroes: James Zadroga, Ray Pfeifer, and Luis Alvarez Permanent Authorization of the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund Act. The VCF Permanent Authorization Act extends the VCF’s claim filing deadline from December 18, 2020, to October 1, 2090, and appropriates such funds as may be necessary to pay all eligible claims. Additional information is available at the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund website.


On April 19, 2022, the Attorney General appointed August (Auggie) Flentje to serve as Special Master of the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund (VCF) on an interim basis while the search for a permanent Special Master is underway. Auggie has served as an attorney with the Department of Justice (DOJ) Civil Division since 1998, first as a Trial Attorney in the Appellate Staff, and most recently as Special Counsel in the Civil Division front office.  During his time with the Appellate Staff, he litigated numerous cases in the courts of appeals. He has served as a close adviser to numerous Assistant Attorney Generals and has served as Acting Deputy Assistant Attorney General or temporary head for every litigating branch of the Civil Division. In 2018, Auggie was awarded the Attorney Generals’ David Margolis Award for Exceptional Service, the Department’s highest award for employee performance.

Auggie has managed the Torts Branch, under which the VCF operates, several times. In that capacity, he has worked with the Special Master to help address issues that arise in the management of VCF, and is familiar with its functions and operation.  Auggie has stated that his goal as Special Master for an interim period is to provide stable management during the hiring process for a permanent Special Master, and to ensure there is no slowdown in the important work of the VCF in resolving claims.  

Upon graduation from law school, Mr. Flentje served as a law clerk to Judge Frank J. Magill of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. Mr. Flentje earned his Bachelor of Arts degree from Princeton University and his J.D., magna cum laude, from Georgetown University Law Center.  He was raised in Wichita, Kansas.

This information is also available on the VCF website.

Updated May 3, 2022

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No