Skip to main content

Voting Determination Letters for South Dakota

The Civil Rights Division has prepared this site to make Civil Rights Division documents more available to the public.

To the extent that any documents do not currently comply with Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act because of the poor quality of the original documents used to prepare this site, the Division is applying its available resources in an effort to create alternative records that are readable.

Determination Letters for South Dakota, by date.
Jurisdiction and date Description and submission numbers Notes
Todd County
(A8204; A2281)
Shannon and Todd Counties
H.B. No. 1197 (1979) (Chapter 45) "Unorganized Counties Act"--severance of Tripp County from Todd County and Fall River County from Shannon County
Declaratory judgment granted in part, and denied in part, by Consent Decree in South Dakota v. United States, No. 80-1976 (D.D.C. Dec. 1, 1981)
Shannon and Todd Counties
S.B. No. 17, Chapter 107 (1994)--voter removal procedures insofar as they incorporate the failure to vote within a four-year period as a trigger for mailing a registration confirmation notice
Withdrawn 11-5-96
Charles Mix County
(html | pdf)
Referendum on the increase of county commissioners from three to five members and the 2007 redistricting plan
Updated August 7, 2015