Skip to main content

Department of Justice Career Transition Assistance Plan (CTAP) Activity Notice

Please refer to the table below to determine the local commuting areas in which there are CTAP eligibles within the Department of Justice (DOJ). Competitive service vacancies, as defined in 5 CFR 330.602, that are open to candidates outside of a particular local commuting area within a component (see list below) but within DOJ must be advertised on OPM's USAJOBS website. However, if there is no CTAP activity within the particular local commuting area of a component vacancy, per the DOJ CTAP Activity Notice, the component may use the exception provided in 5 CFR 330.607(d) to fill the position. In such instances, a copy of the CTAP Activity Notice must be retained in the job case file. This notice also will serve as the means by which the Department will notify components that CTAP eligibility has been deactivated for local commuting areas.


Date Activated

Date Deactivated

Local Commuting



Component HR



The organizations noted below are components for CTAP purposes:

ATF: Alcohol Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives DEA: Drug Enforcement Administration OJP: Office of Justice Programs
ATR: Antitrust Division ENRD: Environment and Natural Resources Division OIG: Office of the Inspector General
BOP: Bureau of Prisons EOIR: Executive Office for Immigration Review TAX: Tax Division
CIV: Civil Division EOUSA: Executive Office for United States Attorneys USMS: United States Marshals Service
CRM: Criminal Division EOUST: Executive Office for United States Trustees  
CRT: Civil Rights Division JMD/OBD: Justice Management Division/Offices, Boards, and Divisions  

Issued by: Department of Justice, Human Resources, Human Resources Policy and Advisory Services.

Updated December 5, 2023