International Courts


The information posted on the Department of Justice website includes hypertext links or pointers to information created and maintained by other public and/or private organizations. The Department of Justice does not endorse the organizations or views represented by outside websites and takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over, the accuracy, accessibility, copyright or trademark compliance or legality of the material contained on outside websites.

International Courts | Regional Courts

International Courts and Tribunals

Universal Jurisdictions | Ad Hoc Criminal Tribunals and Special Courts

Universal Jurisdictions

Ad Hoc Criminal Tribunals and Special Courts

Regional Courts

General | Economic | Human Rights


  • Caribbean Court of Justice
    "The Caribbean Court of Justice shall perform to the highest standards as the supreme judicial organ in the Caribbean Community. In its original jurisdiction it ensures uniform interpretation and application of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, thereby underpinning and advancing the CARICOM Single Market and Economy. As the final court of appeal for member states of the Caribbean Community it fosters the development of an indigenous Caribbean jurisprudence."
  • Central American Court of Justice (Corte Centroamericana de Justicia - In Spanish). Judicial body of the Organization of Central American States, an international organization formed in 1951 to reestablish regional unity in Central America. Member states are Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua.
  • Court of Justice of the Andean Community (Tribunal de Justicia de la Comunidad Andina - In Spanish and English). The judicial body of the Andean Community, which is comprised of five judges, each representing one of the member countries (Bolivia, Columbia, Ecuador, Peru, and Venezuela), having jurisdiction in the the five countries. The court ensures the legality of Community provisions through nullity actions, interprets Andean Community laws to ensure that they are applied uniformly in the member countries, and settles disputes.
  • Court of Justice of the European Union (In Eleven Languages). As the judicial branch of the European Union (EU), the European Court of Justice reviews the legality of the acts of the Commission and the Council of Ministers of the EU. The court has the power to invalidate the laws of EU member nations when those laws conflict with Union law.
  • Guide to Researching the Council of Europe From LLRX
  • Court on Conciliation and Arbitration - Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe. "The Court was established by the Convention on Conciliation and Arbitration within the OSCE (signed December 1992), which entered into force in December 1994 after the deposition of the twelfth instrument of ratification or accession. It is intended to settle disputes submitted to it by the OSCE States signatories to the convention through conciliation and, where appropriate, arbitration."


  • The Court of Justice of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
    "The Court of Justice, as the judicial institution of the Common Market is the backbone of that system of safeguards. Its Judges shall ensure that the law is not interpreted and applied differently in each Member State, that as a shared legal system, it remains a Common Market system and that it is always identical for all in circumstances. In order to fulfill that role, the Court of Justice has jurisdiction to hear disputes to which the undertakings and individuals may be parties."
  • European Free Trade Agreement Court
    "The EFTA Court has jurisdiction with regard to EFTA States which are parties to the EEA Agreement (at present Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway). The Court is mainly competent to deal with infringement actions brought by the EFTA Surveillance Authority against an EFTA State with regard to the implementation, application or interpretation of an EEA rule, for the settlement of disputes between two or more EFTA States, for appeals concerning decisions taken by the EFTA Surveillance Authority and for giving advisory opinions to courts in EFTA States on the interpretation of EEA rules. Thus the jurisdiction of the EFTA Court mainly corresponds to the jurisdiction of the Court of Justice of the European Communities over EC States."
  • North American Free Trade Agreement Secretariat
    "The NAFTA Secretariat, comprised of the Canadian, U.S. and Mexican Sections, is an unique organization, established by the Free Trade Commission, pursuant to Article 2002, Chapter 20 of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). It is responsible for the administration of the dispute settlement provisions of the Agreement. The mandate of the NAFTA Secretariat also includes the provision of assistance to the Commission and support for various non-dispute related committees and working groups."

Human Rights

  • European Court of Human Rights
    "The European Convention on Human Rights establishes a single and permanent system to control and protect human rights: the European Court of Human Rights. Anyone who believes that his or her rights have been breached under the Convention may lodge a complaint, provided no further legal remedies are available in the national courts. The Court decides if the case is admissible, and, if it is, establishes the facts and tries to bring about a friendly settlement. If that fails, the Court takes a binding decision."
  • Inter-American Court of Human Rights (In Spanish and English)
    "[The Court is] an autonomous judicial institution whose purpose is the application and interpretation of the American Convention on Human Rights."

Return to: International and Foreign Legal Research Center

Updated January 10, 2018

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No